Day 17 - still at Columbus, KS - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

May 30, 2013

Day 17 - still at Columbus, KS

Posted via email Thu May 30 19:11:01 2013 PDT

I had set the alarm to go off again at 4:20am. It was raining. Checked the weather radar. Looked like two batches would move through today, with a break in between.

Decisions, decisions. I wanted to take advantage again of the south wind to go north. My plan was to get to Iola and the start of the Prairie Spirit Trail. On the other hand, I was falling behind on my planned schedule. If I was going to make up time, my diversion into Kansas would be the only cut I could make, and still get to all the tri-points and back home before I had to be back at work. Going into unplanned territory would be an adventure in itself. My Kansas Bicycling Map showed bicycling-recommended roads straight west. Ditching my original plan would put a burden on Kris to locate places for me to stay, but she'd be willing to do that, I'm sure. I had until 11:00am this morning to make up my mind on what I'd be doing today. Called my wife at 7:00am, to discuss options, but mostly to hear home news.

I finally decided at 9:15am what to do today (stay put) and for the trip (straight-line-it to Tri-point #16). Emailed Kris with my request for help. Mostly, I needed information available at the Kansas Cyclist Camping webpage, but the BlackBerry would lock up when I attempted to load that.

At 9:35am it was done raining (for now). Walked downtown, looking for a Poynt-indicated restaurant. Took some pictures of downtown before I got to the place to eat. Arrived at the Lighthouse Cafe at 10:07am, where I had breakfast. Done at 11:03am. Passed a Subway on my way back to the motel. Remembering my room has a refrigerator, I bought a Subway Club sandwich, BBQ chips, and peanut butter cookies for supper tonight.

I was back at the motel room at 11:40am, and sound asleep by 12:30pm. Woke up at 3:00pm when the second batch of rain for the day moved through. Worked on report. We lost power for a moment.

Ate supper at 5:30pm. Decided to save half the sandwich for breakfast tomorrow. Walked to Casey's across the street for two chocolate milks - one also for tomorrow.

Here's hoping the weather lets me get to Independence, Kansas, tomorrow.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $57.40 plus $2.50 (motel) + $9.90 plus $2 (breakfast) + $10.88 (supper) + $3.27 (chocolate milks) = $85.95.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ one way to get your license plate washed +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ Cherokee County WWI Veterans Memorial - Columbus, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ sailing high +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking west from N. Kansas Avenue - Columbus, KS +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ watching the Weather Channel +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0