Day 13 - still at Springfield, MO - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

May 26, 2013

Day 13 - still at Springfield, MO

Posted via email Mon May 27 08:09:02 2013 PDT

Enjoyed sleeping in all the way to 8:23am. Laurie provided me with coffee and an English muffin when I made it to the kitchen. Bill provided me with a shirt and pair of pants so I could do all my laundry at once, which I got started on after Laurie explained how her machines work.

We took off for breakfast, arriving at the Village Inn on Glenstone Avenue at 11:35am. The hostess was at the door informing everyone coming in that they could only accept checks or cash this morning, since there was a break-in last night, and the phone lines had been cut. Bill and Laurie treated me to a very tasty breakfast. Next they took me to a Walmart, so I could restock my lunch bag, and also buy more batteries.

I spent some time when we were back home sorting through maps and notes I no longer need, and making a pile of stuff (mostly clothes) that I'd leave here. I feel the need to lighten up a bit. One other item I'm leaving behind is my radio. I thought it'd be fun the listen to on empty Kansas roads, but it's heavy.

By 3:35pm, taking a Sunday afternoon nap was on my mind. Got up in time for the supper Laurie made for me.

I had considered rotating my tires while I was here, since the rear one is showing so much wear, but I was running out of time. Laurie encouraged me to go ahead. I'm glad she did. In the setting sunlight on the driveway, I discovered three broken spokes on the rear wheel! All broken at the hub. Bummer! I was all rested and ready to go tomorrow, looking forward to getting through Springfield on a light traffic day (Memorial Day). And being Memorial Day tomorrow, would any bike shops be open?

Laurie had suggested earlier that we should go to Andy's for ice cream. I had plenty of time now, so we went out. On the way, Bill had Laurie drive past some of the Springfield bicycle shops, to see if there were any signs posted about being open or closed for the holiday. One was closed for sure, the others had no notices. I enjoyed seeing the older downtown area of Springfield as we drove by.

Time for ice cream - nothing can be done about the wheel until tomorrow at 10:00am. Bill and I ordered the BootDaddy Concrete and Laurie got her favorite - Chocolate Concrete with caramel. Very good! There's no indoor or outdoor seating at Andy's, but they are open year-round. Bill showed me the outside heater they turn on in the winter, to keep customers warm as they stand eating their ice cream.

Bill has high hopes one of the bike shops will be open tomorrow. We'll have to wait and see.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $44.49 (food, clothes, bandages, batteries).

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ Laurie knows what she wants for breakfast +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ lots of choices at Andy's - Springfield, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0