May 2, 1986 - Cambridge to Ely - UK: Learning to Tour (Tour 1) - 1986 🇬🇧 - CycleBlaze

May 2, 1986

May 2, 1986 - Cambridge to Ely

HERE I AM exhausted again. Earlier this evening as we were watching ('gag') the Cosbys, I kept dozing off. I finally decided I'd best be off to bed if I'm to get a good distance tomorrow.

*****

I woke up this morning at 7:00 am and I just listened to the news. I heard about the Prince and Princess opening Expo '86 in Vancouver. Unfortunately, I began to doze off near 8:00 am but I had to force myself up as breakfast would be served only until 9:00 am. As I was devouring my full breakfast, a family of three came in - the son was wearing a U of T sweatshirt. We started talking and I was to find that they'd been touring by car for five weeks and had done my route in the opposite direction. They swore that I must see the Lake District.

By 9:30 am I was on the bike but I went through the University and along the river for photos. There was a light mist everywhere, along with it being very green. As I was absorbing everything, a couple strolled over to me and asked 'where in Canada' I was from. They were from Ottawa.

After an hour or so I was on my way up the A10 to Ely - the couple from Ottawa had said I mustn't miss it. It was only 25 km away but it felt more like 25 million. There was a strong headwind and it was quite warm out. The countryside was beautiful. There was mist rising from the fens - the whole area was once a huge marsh until it was finally drained in the 1700s. Now the area is very fertile so there are row upon row of crops.

When there were still the marshes, one particular town was an island rising out of the swamps. Ely. On top of the island was the magnificent cathedral - dating partly from the Normans, Ely Cathedral.

As soon as I rolled into town I headed to the Cathedral where I collapsed on a bench in the park. I finished off the lunch I'd had packed yesterday and spoke with some interested tourists about my trip. Some said they'd passed me on the route.

I got some info from the tourist hut then toured the Cathedral. One photo I took was of a Norman doorway. Inside were huge vaulted ceilings with very elaborate designs on them. Throughout were tombs and commemorative plaques for the numerous canons - dating back to the 1600s. See also the brochures I brought from Ely.

Once I got out I realized how tired I was so I found a B&B at a private home in the north of town. Mr. Coupe is a prof down in Cambridge University, his Italian wife runs the house (one single and one double room to let) and their daughters are in school. They also have a son who is away at university. Mr. Coupe is nice but a little odd - the Uni professor type.

I went back downtown for supper of real fish and chips. They weren't wrapped in newspaper but they were wrapped in blank newsprint paper. I sat in the park by the cathedral and devoured it all. Then I went to a grocery store for a half-litre of milk as I'd not had any all day.

As it was still light out, I biked around town and down to the River Ouse which meandered along the east side of town. Quite tired, I came back to the house to watch snooker (I was asked if I was 'keen' on snooker), find the hockey results from home (Toronto and Edmonton lost!) then we watched a few American shows. On my way to bed I mentioned to Mr. Coupe that I wanted to be on the bike early and when I more fully described the route to him, he told me I couldn't miss the Lake District. Not the first time I've been told this, I've decided to cut out the Pennine Way ('not as pretty') and visit the Lake District instead. I saw some pictures from the mountains - awe-inspiring.

It's past 10:30 pm and I must be up by 7:30 am. Today I have come to realize one thing. I love to travel, I have met some interesting people, but it sure is nice to see a familiar face each day. If I could, I'd plan day-trips from Hadleigh; unfortunately, there's too much to see that I'd hate myself for missing. I just hope I've enough time to see all I want to see. I've already fallen short of 60 to 80 km per day. Tomorrow I push!

Today's ride: 25 km (16 miles)
Total: 105 km (65 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0