Scenes from the Hood - Falling Through Spain - CycleBlaze

November 2, 2023

Scenes from the Hood

I probably should have numbered this post because there could be a series of these, depending on what the weather offers up in the next few weeks.  I’m on orders to stay off the bicycle for the next two to three weeks to avoid injury to the groin where the catheter was inserted, so practically speaking there won’t be any biking action to report on until we head south at the end of the month.

light walking is permitted though and there’s no restriction on my shutter finger, so I’m sure I’ll get out on foot with the camera when the weather’s agreeable and I get bored of sitting around wishing I could go traveling again.  Today was such a day, surprisingly.  We were expecting rain but it’s really quite nice though overcast - nice enough that I went out for a short walk along the waterfront this afternoon.  Short, because unfortunately my ablation surgery did nothing for my osteoarthritic left knee, and the effects of that cortisone shot two months back are starting to fade.

Not much else to report though - no new birds, just some pics from around the hood.

Oh, and one more thing.  The day started at Stepping Stone Cafe where I treated Bruce to breakfast on his birthday, a milestone one.  I tried to talk the customers at Stepping Stone into singing Happy Birthday to him when he walked in, but they were more interested in shoveling in their omelets and mancakes.  So you might wish him one.

In Tanner Springs Park.
Heart 5 Comment 0
In Tanner Springs Park.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bruce LellmanTanner Springs Park is like a little oasis in the midst of high-rises. There nature continues on its way in total disregard of its surroundings. I love it there.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
The Fremont Bridge. Interesting sky today!
Heart 4 Comment 0
The red bridge from the north.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Temco grain terminal.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rock doves, our bird of the day.
Heart 1 Comment 0
From the south this time.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I forget what this is. Just some pile in the Pearl District.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Hydrangeas.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Fremont again.
Heart 2 Comment 0
What’s left of Centennial Mills.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another mystery. And actually I need to go out and look gin. That low one in front might be the one we’re living in now.
Heart 2 Comment 0
NV Apartments has a flashy veneer. I’ll bet you wish you lived there. Get it?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Reflecting on the NV Apartment building.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Union station.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pretty sure my workout earned a reward. I usually have a Super Dog here, but the name of their special brew for the month was too much of a temptation.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Cheers to our Kiwi friends down under!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Emily SharpVery good to hear your procedure was a success and you will be back on the bike pretty soon. Hopefully you can get back to more interesting topography on your next tour without fear of triggering an episode. All the best.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Emily SharpThanks, Emily. I’m quite encouraged, but we’ll see how it goes once I’m cleared for sitting on a saddle again. I’m especially interested to see see how it goes down in Tucson next month. It’s nice to have Mount Lemmon there waiting as a mega-yardstick to test myself against again.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Bruce LellmanI couldn't have had a happier way to begin my birthday than eating breakfast with you, Scott, looking happy, quite relieved and healthy. A memorable breakfast at a haunt I've been going to periodically for 40 years. Stepping Stone's motto has always been: "You eat here because we let you." I like the attitude. The only thing that has changed in 40 years is the artwork, a change for the better too.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago