Hack and HAC - Falling Through Spain - CycleBlaze

November 9, 2023

Hack and HAC


(Note, in case you wonder why this has been updated.  With Jen’s help we found another pair of HAC meets.  I think this is the full set of meetings of the complete group now.)

HACK

Today’s my special day, and I show up at the dentist’s door promptly at eight after having downed a bowl of granola at home and an almond croissant and coffee at Lovejoy Bakers.  A smarter man might have hopped in the car and headed over to Stepping Stone Cafe for a last three egg omelet or some mancakes, but that timeline made me anxious at the thought that I might be held up and be late for my appointment.

No point in detailing the extraction, which isn’t nearly as interesting as the ablation procedure.  If you’ve ever had an extraction yourself, you know the drill.  (A little gag there - they don’t use a drill.  Just some standard issue pliers, like you can pick up at Ace Hardware.  We could have saved Team Anderson about 2,000€ by picking up a cheapo pair and letting Rachael yank it out at home).

It all went well, though the whole time she’s twisting and tugging on the tooth I’m listening to the unnerving excavation sounds and tensing up waiting for the pain to come, but it never really does because they’ve numbed me well.  Afterwards they fill up the crater with bone graft and then follows an extensive period of stitching it into place, with the threads of the sutures periodically tickling my cheeks.  I’m in the chair for a little over an hour, and the lion’s share of that time is spent suturing.  The extraction itself doesn’t take long at all.

Afterwards I’m given my marching orders, with emphasis on protecting the site so that the grafting material stays in place until I’m back in two weeks for my follow up and suture removal.  In the meantime: take my antibiotic, use the mouth rinse without sloshing it around, no interesting foods, no strenuous exercise, no alcohol for a week(!).  Fun.  If I’d known all this beforehand I might have opted to take my chances with the infection.

Exciting!
Heart 3 Comment 0

 HAC

First, some background for those of you who are newcomers here or have forgotten who the HAC group are.  The group was founded back in early 2018 by some Portland dissident troublemakers, all of whom had been recently banished from a previous cycling website because the webmaster deemed us to be Hostile Actors and no longer welcome there.

I’ve lost count of how many HAC meetups have occurred since our initial gathering on March 11, 2018 at Bruce’s house, with the group joined by special guest stars Jeff Arnim (the CycleBlaze webmaster, in case you’ve forgotten) and famed bike traveler Willy Weir, accompanied by their significant others, pets and offspring.  Here here are a few shots from the past, showing how excellently all of us have held up over time.

March 11, 2018: the birth of the HAC group.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Jen RahnFor me, one of the highlights of 2018!!

There aren't many groups where I feel instantly at ease, and this is one of the very few.

My people!!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Ron SuchanekWe look great!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
August, 2018. The first HAC reunion, on the day the Grumbys returned from their epic ride of the Lewis and Clark ACA route and a few days before we left for our ride from Dubrovnik to Barcelona (note that the Arnims were in town for this meet-up also).
Heart 3 Comment 0
March 9th, 2020. Just three days before everything started shutting down from Covid Bruce, Andrea and ourselves drove down to Silverton to check on the status of the Brumby’s new home.
Heart 1 Comment 0
May 21, 2021, about a week before we left town for our ride from Minnepolis to Rome, Italy.
Heart 3 Comment 0
At the same gathering, we’re sent off with the first ringing of the ceremonial gong. A new HAC tradition!
Heart 5 Comment 1
Bruce LellmanWe bought the gong on the Gong Highway in Thailand on our first bike trip in 2014-15. It weighs something!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
November 26, 2021: on the day after Thanksiving we gathered at Bruce’s house for a reunion before we headed south for the winter.
Heart 0 Comment 0

So we meet again.  There’s been quite a bit of eChitChat leading up to the meeting, mostly discussing teeth and food.  The original concept was some takeout pizza, but with at least half of the group unlikely to be able to eat it that idea slid off the table and was replaced by Bruce’s famous guacamole, some tempting crunchy snacks that I can’t enjoy, and Bruce’s jar of extracted teeth he’s been carrying around for decades because that’s just what he does.  (Really, Bruce collects and saves everything.  You might ask him about his trophy bowling shoes someday).

The gathering is as always excellent, with much laughter, discussion of current events and future plans, and reminiscing.  It’s a club we’re proud to claim membership in, and we feel lucky to be surrounded by such friends again.  

I’ll bet you thought I was joking about Bruce’s tooth collection. Nope.
Heart 6 Comment 6
Janice BranhamThat's an awful lot of teeth for one mouth. I assume Bruce extracted some donations from loved ones.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Janice BranhamWith Bruce there’s always a story. Save up the question, you’re apt to see him someday.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Janice BranhamTo Scott AndersonThat would be a treat, I'm sure
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Jen RahnRon sent this photo to his mom and she totally missed the teeth!

She was concerned about the weird black stuff at the front of the lovely snack tray.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Andrea BrownTo Jen RahnI hope you told her they were dried ears of a capybara or something (they are plums from Bruce's tree, dried in the summer furnace that is his 1985 Toyota Tercel wagon).
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Ron SuchanekI thought he accumulated the teeth from his time as a "collector of debts".
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Tooth gags are in today. Very funny.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Andrea’s new bike is gorgeous! Belt drive, disk brakes, internal hub! I want one!
Heart 5 Comment 6
Jacquie GaudetI can’t help wondering about that rear fender. Even our little Sodapop quick-release fenders have two points of attachment. Am I missing something?
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Andrea BrownTo Jacquie GaudetThese are the standard Bike Friday fenders, they make them. They have their weaknesses for sure, and look weird. This one in particular isn't shaped quite right. But it's really easy to take on and off which is nice for packing, and it does the job.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Jen RahnTo Andrea BrownI can't believe I didn't ask to take it for a spin.

Doh!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Jen RahnNot too late, and the weather looks good this week if you hustle back up.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Andrea BrownTo Scott AndersonToo late, it's in the box! Whew.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
This, like all the other photos here except the bike, were taken by one of the Grumbys.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

I think you’ll agree that the ceremonial ringing of the great gong was memorable that it’s worth seeing from more than one angle.

Until next time! All hail the glorious HACs!
Heart 10 Comment 22
Andrea BrownI'm smiling extra wide because I've had a gap in my front teeth for 5.5 months and was used to simpering (or wearing a mask). All hail modern dentistry!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauYou folks don't look all that hostile to me!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Janice BranhamWhat fun! Thanks for the backstory on the glorious HACs.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Bruce LellmanThank you, Scott, for a really nice and complete history of the Hostile Actors Club.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Bruce LellmanTo Gregory GarceauWe have found that smiling deceives nicely.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Jen RahnTo Gregory GarceauGreg!

Scott and Rachael shared some stories about meeting up with you and The Feeshko. Did I get that right? I think that is not your wife's name .. and I don't remember the story.

Anyhow, it was great to hear about the fun the Andersons have had getting together with you two and I hope we'll get to meet you, too!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Jen RahnTo Andrea BrownThat was such a treat to arrive to your recovered smile!

And I love the happy colors of your house as the background for this photo.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Jen RahnHi Jen. Yes, it would be nice to meet with all the HACs sometime. You guys seem to have a lot of fun, and nobody has as much fun having fun as I do. Don't let that fool you though. I can also engage in "hostile activities" if necessary.

You're right about The Feeshko not being my wife's real name. I could write a 10,000-word essay about The Feeshko's name, but I'll spare you and provide the condensed version:

When we met in college, she told me her name was Alice, so I called her "Alice" for a couple of months. After dating and becoming more comfortable with her, I started calling her "Alicia." She seemed to like that, so a while later, I re-named her "Alficia"--you know, just to keep things fresh. Over the next year or so, the name evolved from "Alficia" to "Feeshia" to "Feesher" to "Feesh." Incredibly, despite all the names, she agreed to marry me. Shortly thereafter, it became "Feeshko," which stuck for the next thirty years. Only after I started writing on-line bike touring journals did I add the "The" to "Feeshko." I thought it would be a clever gimmick to keep people wondering, "is that her real name?" It would be my little secret.

For years, I've been surprised that only one or two people have asked that question. I figure it's okay to tell you the secret story since Scott & Rocky have hardly any followers, nobody is inspired by their routes, and nobody reads their journals. (LOL!)

One more story I can't resist telling: Back in the 1990's, I had an employee who had been working for me for about three years. During that time, he had met my wife many times, but everybody in the store always called her "Feeshko." One day, an old friend stopped by and asked how Alice was doing. I started telling him about my wife's activities and, after a couple minutes, the aforementioned employee spoke up. "Wait! Who's Alice?" After three years, the poor guy only knew her as "Feeshko."
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bruce LellmanA very deceitful deception, Bruce, but it worked. It reminded me of a lyric from a song by the mid-western band, Wilco. The song is called "How to Fight Loneliness." Substituting one word, I paraphrase: "How to fight hostility / Smile all the time."
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Bruce LellmanTo Gregory GarceauThat's good, Greg. You always have something interesting to say.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Bruce LellmanTo Gregory GarceauThank you for this explanation because most of the HAC members have always wondered if your wife was foreign or alien or what.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Gregory GarceauIf you look closely at Jen's eyes, you can see murder in them.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bruce LellmanI actually WAS asked one time if Feeshko was an American Indian name.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Ron SuchanekI see it NOW!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Gregory GarceauRight? It's unsettling.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Jen RahnTo Gregory GarceauWith your permission, I would like to copy this and save it with our stories to re-visit.

I love the creativity and playfulness!

I wish I'd been there to see your employee's face as he tried to figure out who Alice was.

Tell Feeshko that Mrs. Grumby says hello.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Jen RahnI'd be honored to have you copy The Feeshko story for future HAC use. You might also want to copy Bruce's message in which he said most of you were thinking The Feeshko was either a foreigner or an alien. I thought that was pretty funny and, I guess, understandable.

I haven't passed your "Mrs. Grumby says 'hello'" message to The Feeshko yet, but I'm sure she'll be happy to know that there are other Cycleblaze personalities with goofy alternate names.

One more thing: I noticed there are now 17 comments attached to this single photo of the HACs. That's got to be a Cycleblaze record.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Bruce LellmanTo Gregory GarceauSpeaking of goofy alternate names of CycleBlaze personalities don't forget Boof.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Bruce LellmanTo Gregory GarceauI'm pretty sure that in Ojibwe, Feeshko means; 'I married crazy man.'
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bruce LellmanOh man, I can't believe I almost forgot about that goofy alternate name. Now that you reminded me, I just thought up an alternate title for your upcoming bike tour--"The Return of Boof."

Also, I should have known you spoke Ojibwe.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Bruce LellmanGreat idea. Another alternate title: Boof Rides Again!

I grew up with my father telling us we most certainly had Ojibwe blood, not a lot of it but some. He had no proof, however, and then a few years ago my brother did the ancestor testing thing and alas, no native blood. Not a drop. I thought for sure my love of canoeing was in my blood.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanHahaha!!!!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 16
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Bruce LellmanIt's rare for the Hostile Actors Club to meet because we are all vagabond cyclists and are rarely in the same place at the same time. This meeting was exceptional. Love you guys.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Jen RahnTo Bruce LellmanI can't imagine a tooth-themed gathering with better decorations.

Those really set the tone for this Time of Hilarity and Merriment!!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Andrea BrownScott, I so appreciate your documentation of this rare example of affable friendship. I really like the friends I have where we just pick up where we left off. As an "introvert that likes people" it's super affirming and refreshing. Seeing our group over the years (with baby J in Kristen's arms!!! And Tiva the pupdog!!!) is just delightful.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Bruce LellmanTo Jen RahnWell, I thought it was quite a remarkable coincidence that by a Wednesday, when we were to meet, we had all already been to a dentist for something or other, all except Ron. And then, Ron told me that he was behind in getting a cleaning! Well, that was the week to do it, Ron, to make for 100% HAC member dental participation.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Andrea BrownTiva! Of course. I couldn’t quite bring it back. He’s a Formosa mountain dog or something like that, I think?

You’re right. I love this group. It makes me feel really grounded when we reunite like this. I’m really glad too to have a record of it like this to fill in the increasingly common mental blanks..
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Bruce LellmanTo Scott AndersonRight, a Formosa mountain dog. Kat and Willie got her as a rescue dog shipped over from Taiwan. She had grown up in a garbage dump and had all sorts of fears. Kat and Willie have worked really hard at giving Tiva a great life. She still hides when she hears garbage trucks.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanDental work, eh? I don't know, sounds a little witch-doctory. I always think of the Seinfeld episode where Jerry goes to the dentist, goes under anesthesia, and as he groggily wakes up he thinks he sees the assistant and dentist getting dressed.

https://youtu.be/QOrYKxfPUto?si=8QFgv2_qqJxWL34G


"I was rinsing and spitting like there was no tomorrow!"
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Bruce LellmanTo Ron SuchanekThat's great. I forgot about that episode.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago