Albarracín Day 2: hike - Falling Through Spain - CycleBlaze

October 14, 2023

Albarracín Day 2: hike

The day started out cold with a forecast of rain so we decided to eat lunch first and then I’d take a walk and Scott would take a bike ride.  After our difficulty finding a place to eat it was great that Scott found one and even better it was a delicious lunch.  I headed out for my hike about 3:30 pm knowing I needed to get back in plenty of time before sun down.  After yesterday’s disappointing hike, I was hoping to get better views and I did.  This hike ranks as one of the best hikes of the trip at the perfect time of day!

Heart 4 Comment 0
Finally a view back on the beautiful rock just on the edge of town.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A view back on the part of town where the locals live!
Heart 3 Comment 0

The next several photos are ones I took while climbing on the windy path to the highest point of the hike.  I kept stopping for photos along the way because it was so beautiful!

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 1
Janice BranhamQuite a dramatic landscape, and sky.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0

At the top, the trail got even more beautiful with very colorful rocks along the path.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
I especially liked this beautiful rock formation!
Heart 7 Comment 0
A view down on the valley below.
Heart 5 Comment 0

On my way back, I spotted an enticing side trail and I couldn’t resist checking it out.  I’m really glad I did!

That looks like it could rain. I hope I get back before it starts!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
All along the trail, were these beautiful flowers which I think are heather. They were so beautiful next to the red rock formations.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Janice BranhamNow that's a real rock garden
Reply to this comment
6 months ago

  I was within a half a  mile when it started to lightly sprinkle.  How lucky.  When I got back, I starting tracking Scott’s progress.  He was less than a mile away and moving very slowly.  I called to see if he was okay and he told me he took the wrong road into town.  I decided to wait for him just outside the hotel so I could let him in and he finally arrived 15 to 20 minutes later. 

After arriving, he had the fun of carrying his bike down these stairs and then through the main part of our lodging and outside to our room. This was very challenging because of all the twists and turns down stairs and breakable objects along the way.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Suzanne GibsonWhat a great walk! Glad you didn't get rained on!
Reply to this comment
6 months ago