Tomorrow! - The Seven Year Itch - CycleBlaze

February 21, 2024

Tomorrow!

Life's great, life's grand / Future, all planned / No more, clouds in the sky / How’m I ridin'? I'm ridin' high    - Cole Porter

For all the times we’ve gone through this routine now, it doesn’t seem to be getting any less stressful with practice.  I’m still waking up in the middle of the night making a note about one more thing I need to check on, and Rachael’s been going around for days now petrified that I’ll lose my wallet at the last minute.  We’re both so ready to leave town and head for the sun, and anxious about whether we’ll sabotage ourselves by dropping something important.

Or fearful that something unexpected and unpredictable will happen at the last minute, too late for us to recover from it.  As happened last Thursday when I went in for my teeth cleaning and the dentist discovered I have a cavity.  She tells me what I expect to hear, that it needs to be dealt with now.  If I wait nine months until we return, the odds are poor that I’ll be able to save the tooth.

That’s the bad news - or at least part of it.  The good news - or at least part of it - is that they can juggle their schedule and fit me in first thing Monday morning.  The further bad news is that it’s on an experienced tooth that’s already received a root canal and a crown.  The last bit of good news is that because of the root canal I’ve been feeling no pain from a cavity that turns out to be quite advanced once the crown is removed so they can see it.  As it turns out, it’s already almost too late to save the tooth.  The cavity covers the whole top of the tooth, spreading silently and unseen because I couldn’t feel anything and the crown hid it from the X-rays.

The final bit of bad news?  I’m too late to get a permanent crown, so the best they can do is a temporary one glued on with permanent cement in the hopes that it will last until we return - which means that when I get back they’ll need to start all over with a new temporary and finally permanent crown.

And since insurance won’t cover two crowns on the same tooth within a five year span, today’s is financed out of pocket.  

We’ll do you a favor at this point and not show you any photos of my teeth.  Instead, let’s break up the narrative with a few photos of my last time out on the bike before we leave, another easy loop down to the Sellwood Bridge and back though the Oaks Bottom refuge again.  A longer loop would have been possible, but it’s cold and chilly and windy enough that I decide I’ll just wait for warm, sunny Mallorca at this point.  

In fact I nearly changed my mind on going out at all when I stepped out and felt how chilling it was, but felt too guilty to stay in if Rachael was going to make it out for another long hike herself.  It’s a good thing I did get out because I pulled in one last bird before leaving the country, and another interesting mammal sighting.

It’s a pretty nice day out, really. I’m embarrassed now that I considered sitting it out.
Heart 2 Comment 0
How’m I ridin’, I’m ridin’ high.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Ron SuchanekHow D'You Ride, by the brilliant glam rock band Slade:
https://youtu.be/-iom1BTJiYU?si=nfvzM6slv4LHAn1B
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
#144: Golden-crowned sparrow.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Andrea BrownThere was a bird in Thailand that had a similar call to a GCS, so sweet and plaintive. We never once saw it, just heard it.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Something awfully interesting in there.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I don’t think I’ve ever been this close to a beaver in the wild before. He’s only about thirty feet away, and much more interested in stripping his willow twigs than in worrying about the gallery.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

Other than that, our final few days in town are the usual series of last minute tasks, errands, visits and meals.   It’s crowded calendar,  but a last coffee date with Elizabeth and Bruce get squeezed in as well as dinners at Gallo Nero and Serrato.  Filling in the gaps are Rachael’s crazy trip to the laundromat, an oil change and car wash for the Raven before turning it over to Elizabeth for the next nine months, a trip to the LBS to get the bikes boxed for flight, and the usual storage unit shuffle.  Everything fits in though, and by the day before departure we’re relieved to realize we’re ready to go.

Oh, and about that crazy trip to the laundromat Rachael doesn’t want to forget.  It’s an unexpectedly unpleasant experience, and one that requires her to purchase time on the machines through an app rather than using change.  Later she’ll be enraged to realize she’s bought herself $30 worth of laundry time, most of which was unused.  She turns it into a positive experience though by returning the next morning and spending it down by donating it to other customers, in the form of machine time and beverages from the vending machine.

Oh, and one last surprise: I have high blood pressure, a condition that showed up when I went in for my cortisone shot and again at the dentist.  It’s a recent development, and when I brought it up with my doctor he connected it with my medication change after my ablation surgery.  I was surprised to learn that diltiazem, the drug I’ve taken for years for arrhythmia, is also commonly prescribed for high blood pressure - in fact, that’s probably its primary usage.  So in a surprise twist I’m back on it again, starting tomorrow.  I’ll be anxious to see how that goes for me.

One last dog for the road.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 10
Patrick O'HaraAll the best on your travels. As always, looking forward to following along.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltLotta twists and turns as you prepare to leave. Eager to see what you find along the way as usual.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Larry MitchellIf it was dull, we wouldn’t have stories to tell.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kelly IniguezBe sure and stock up on sunscreen for all of that anticipated sunshine!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Rich FrasierLooking forward to following along on another adventure!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jacquie GaudetYou’ve got a Tile in your wallet, right?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Bob KoreisSpain is a popular location for dental tourism. Maybe your tooth gets fixed on the trip?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kathleen ClassenWe had a wonderful experience with the emergency dental visit for Keith in Spain…I second the thought about looking into that as an elegant solution to a pesky problem. And I deeply sympathize as I just discovered on Tuesday I need a root canal, and I too used up all this year’s coverage on a root canal in the fall 🤑.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Kathleen ClassenThanks, Kathleen. Sorry you’re having your own root canal, but I think I’ll wait until we get home again. Replacing it with a permanent crown would take too long for any place we’ll be staying.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kathleen ClassenI have been thinking about all these tooth issues and have come to the conclusion that some of it is simply due to that dreaded phrase ‘age related’. That and a million fillings when I was a kid. I went to the dentist before I retired when our coverage was much, much better and had him do everything the insurance company would agree to, so I am philosophical about it as this is the first year in over a decade there has been anything besides routine cleaning. And you are right, I wasn’t thinking of how long a crown takes to be made. Interestingly, my sister’s dentist does the permanent crown right in her office with some kind of a robotic 3D printer and she gets to watch the process. Isn’t that amazing?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago