Puig de Sant Notre - The Seven Year Itch - CycleBlaze

March 2, 2024

Puig de Sant Notre

It’s warmer today, if still not warm; and as predicted it’s windy enough that Rachael elects a walk for herself.  She researches Kormoot for hikes around Sineu and comes up with one that looks attractive - an out and back to a small knoll to the southeast, Puig de Sant Notre.  Other than the small hill that Sineu itself is built up, it’s pretty flat for a few miles in all directions from here.  Sant Notre though is close enough that it offers the chance to gain enough elevation for a bit of a view.

Before she leaves Rachael has breakfast in the room from fixings she brought back from the store yesterday: instant coffee, high-protein yogurt, muesli, and a few mini-muffins.  Our host offers breakfast if we order in advance, but it’s expensive enough that it sounds like more of a meal than either of us is interested in.

For myself, I decide to take a chance on that bakery we got cookies from yesterday.  And it’s a nice place - for six euros I have much more of a feast than I can make a dent in: a dense pastry stuffed with chicken and curry that I can only down about 3/4 of, a multigrain croissant that makes it back to the room untouched, cafe con leche and a bottle of water.  It’s a nice enough place and I’ll likely go back tomorrow, but certainly with eyes smaller than my stomach this time.

We’re instructed to lock the door to the house when we leave but have only a single key, so we have to coordinate our departures and arrivals if we aren’t going out together.  Our original plan was that we would leave together, with Rachael taking the key.  We’d keep in touch by phone, and she’d meet up with me later to let me in after the bike ride I’m envisioning.

Plans change though, and in the end I keep the key with myself.

Rachael has an excellent walk except for a short unavoidable stretch on a unshouldered paved road that has enough traffic to be a concern.  The destination itself is as fine as she hoped and gives her impressive views - across the flats, to the mountains, and back to town.

About the change in plans.  This is the point where I want to thank all of you that have expressed your concerns and offered encouragement about our health, and to apologize for not doing my part - for in fact although Rachael is significantly better today, I’m definitely not.  Before leaving for coffee this morning I mapped out a shorter ride for myself for today, a 25 loop that stayed closer to town in case it proved to be too much for me.  By the time I made it back from coffee though it was pretty clear that even that was too much, and in fact I didn’t have enough energy to do anything at all.  Really, I felt pretty fatigued from just the hundred yard walk to the cafe and back.  So I kept the key with me, and while Rachael took her hike I went back to bed for another hour or two.

Eventually I roused myself enough for a very short walk up into the upper town around the parish church that crowns it, and then back to the central plaza where I sat in the sun on the bench for the next hour enjoying watching children kicking balls back and forth and making the rounds on roller blades.  I’d envisioned taking shots of the town and church while I was up above, but couldn’t find the motivation.  Instead, I at least took a few shots of and around our hotel.

Our hotel, Son Cleda. Our room is on the second floor of the facing wall, with a nice view across the plaza.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The memorial monument in front of our hotel honors Francisco Alomar, a renowned professional cyclist who was killed in a traffic accident at the age of 26 during the Tour of Galicia.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A corner of the central plaza. On Wednesdays this and the surrounding streets host the most important market in Mallorca, one that draws thousands. It’s been in business here for over 700 years (dating back to when Sineu was the island’s capitol), and is the only market on the island that includes livestock. I’m sorry we won’t be here on the right day to witness it.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Eva WaltersIt might be just as well that you are missing the market. When we were in Mallorca we visited Sineu on a market day and were shocked at how impossibly crowded it was. There were busloads of tourists and hordes of people in front of all the booths and on the restaurant terraces. It was really unpleasant. Al actually has a visual memory of your hotel terrace crammed with people. We high-tailed it out of Sineu and cycled back to Llubi for lunch. https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/mallorca/to-sineu-and-back-via-llubi-too-much-market/

We’re sorry you’re still feeling so unwell. Just in case it is Covid, a very common effect is extreme fatigue which can last for two weeks or so after testing negative. We both experienced this after pretty mild cases. So it’s good you’re taking it easy and giving yourself time to recover.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Eva WaltersThat’s really amazing to think of, looking out the window at the empty streets and plaza. It sounds like we’re getting out of town at the right time by leaving Tuesday. A day later and we might have a challenge getting our bikes out of our garage.

It really must be Covid, I think. We had mild cases of it about a year ago though and they were nothing like this. I’m just coming up on two weeks under it now so hopefully we’re seeing the trailing edge.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
It’s very quiet today though, but I’m content just watching this father breaking his daughter in to the great game. They must have kicked balls back and forth for the better part of an hour.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Eventually I hear my name called from across the square and see Rachael waving at me, just returning from her walk.  We sit on the bench together discussing our situation for awhile, and then she’s briefly off to a vegetable market and to the pharmacy for more decongestants; and then we both returned to the room and continued our discussion.

It’s a pretty discouraging situation, and it’s clear by now that something needs to give with our plans.  Even these short, easy rides I’ve been taking are apparently too much and seem to be setting me back again.  It makes me feel vulnerable, making me imagine life-changing things like chronic fatigue syndrome or long Covid.  It makes me wonder if we’ll even be aborting the tour.

It’s too soon for that though, we both agree.  It really could just be a matter of time, and a need for me to get more serious about benching myself until I’m either significantly better or until we need to consider plan B.  So for the time being, we’re slowing down even further.  The one concrete change we’re making is to cancel our three day stay in Soller, a reowned coastal beauty spot on the far side of the Tramuntana mountains.  I’m not sure if I could make it across the pass to get there, and even if I did I’m not sure I could make it back across to this side again.  Beyond that it’s also out of the way for getting to Palma, our last stop on Mallorca and the port for catching the ferry back to the mainland.

So for the time being, the plan is to stay two more nights here in Sineu (one more than we were booked for), and then move on to nearby Alaró for four nights.  After that it’s only about a fifteen mile, mostly downhill ride to Palma and the ferry.  Two short, easy rides, five more days where Rachael can take hikes and I can vegetate, and then a boat to Denia on the mainland where we have another three night stay booked.  And then we’ll see.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Suzanne GibsonSo sorry to hear that your health isn't returning as fast as hoped. I agree that you probably need lots of rest. Hope you can find some birding opportunities that aren't out of reach to cheer you up.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Rich FrasierI think you're being wise. Taking it easy seems the best approach until you have more energy. I wonder what you had? Some of the symptoms sound COVID-ish. It took us a couple of weeks to recover when we had it last year.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Rich FrasierThanks, Rich. Oddly enough, Covid never occurred to me - maybe because I got boosted about six weeks ago. That’s no guarantee of course, but maybe it will help it run its course faster if that’s what’s going on. It doesn’t seem like an unreasonable theory.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Suzanne GibsonThanks for the encouragement, Susan. You’re right, a few good birds would be just the thing.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Andrea BrownI'm with Rich on this, it's starting to look a bit like Covid aftermath. If you're getting easily winded, this might be a good time to pop into a pharmacist and purchase a pulse oximeter so you can monitor your oxygen levels. Mostly you need to rest and give your body a break, not easy for somebody like yourself, but it will pay off in the long run. Pick up some vitamin C and D3 while you're at it.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Patrick O'HaraDitto to the comments above. Take time to rest....remember, there is nine months ahead to look forward to. Hope you're on the mend soon!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Karen PoretAndrea and Patrick have the best suggestions, and yours, at heart. Your health is of the utmost importance! As I recover from recent breast cancer surgery, I think NO BIG DEAL and want to get back on the bike ASAP..but, at least here, and now, the cold rain is stopping MY plans, and your “little voice” is telling you what is best. Rachael and your friends and family need you most. Please listen to them.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago