Day 22 - ending at Mount Morris, Illinois - Following the Straight Path - CycleBlaze

June 8, 2010

Day 22 - ending at Mount Morris, Illinois

Day 22 - Pearl City, IL to Mount Morris, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

It rained overnight and was still raining when I woke up at 5:10am. I checked the weather radar images using the BlackBerry. By the time I got the inside of the tent packed, there'd be enough of a break in the rain to take down the tent. I moved everything over to under the camp's pavilion and then ate breakfast: Pop Tarts and raisins. While I was loading the bike a lady in a golf cart appeared to collect the camping fee, which was $19. I didn't have change, so donated an extra dollar. By 9:00am I was as waterproof as I could be and started off.

pavilion at Emerald Acres Campground - Pearl City, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

I abandoned my planned route for today and just focused on the most direct way to get to White Pines Forest State Park, my evening destination. I was headed southeast, and that was the direction the wind was from. That put the rain blowing into my face. While taking a break at 10:23am, I hurriedly snapped this picture with the BlackBerry before it got too wet. This is looking north from Florence Road (with the bike pointed in the wrong direction, since it was one of those spots where the bike would only stay up when parked just so).

looking north on W. Florence Road, west of S. Hamm Road - Stephenson County, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0


I decided I'd get on Route 26, if it had a decent shoulder. When I got there, I saw it didn't. I wished I could find a shelter to get out of the rain for a while. I rode around Baileyville looking, but didn't find anything.

I headed south to Forreston in hopes of finding a place to eat and dry out. At 1:04pm in Forreston, I found a shelter in a park on the east side of town. What a welcomed break. When looking for the park, I'd passed a gas station that had a Subway. I decided that would work for lunch.

I enjoyed a Chicken & Bacon Ranch sandwich, barbecue chips, and a Dr. Pepper.

lunch at Subway
Heart 0 Comment 0

I studied my map while I ate, and decided to take Route 72 east until I was directly north of Mount Morris.

At 2:18pm I was back outside and it had quit raining! But the wind was still strong. I remembered then that I hadn't taken any pictures of Forreston's shelter, so went back for one, since it was in the direction I was going.

park pavilion - Forreston, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

By 3:36pm, on Route 72, I'd decided that I'd be warm enough if I went ahead and took off the rain gear, which I did.

As I neared the spot to turn off Route 72, I noticed waypoints on my GPS that were for the original route I was supposed to be following. One was for a spot I'd planned on seeing. Decided that since I was this close, and the mood of the day had changed (no more rain), I'd check it out. This spot is the farm of another favorite regional author of mine: Clarence Mitchell. I'd read his book, River Hill Soliloquy years ago and had wanted to see the farm described in his book. It had taken me a lot of internet searching before the trip to come up with where the farm was actually located - the northwest corner of Pond Road and Mulberry Road. I crossed the railroad tracks mentioned in the book, and saw the Leaf River with the farm in the distance.

Leaf River at River Hill Farm - Ogle County, IL
Heart 1 Comment 0

There's a sign there recognizing the Mitchells' donation of the farm to the University of Illinois.

northwest corner of W. Pond Road and N. Mulberry Road - Ogle County, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was glad I diverted to see the place Mr. Mitchell brought to life in his book.

Pond Road farther east would get me back on track at Mount Morris Road (County Road 35).

W. Pond Road east of N. Mulberry Road - Ogle County, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was slow going on Mount Morris Road - uphill into the wind. Finally made it at 5:30pm.

I was impressed with the size (for a small town) of the fire department and the old building they had. All the building's doors were open.

Firehouse - Mount Morris, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0
apparently known as the 'Fighting Mounders'
Heart 0 Comment 0

Proceeded on to White Pines Forest State Park. I figured I was getting close, since I was seeing a lot of trees.

S. Forest Road - Ogle County, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

A little later I crossed railroad tracks. Our family vacationed at White Pines in 1998, staying in one of their restored CCC-built cabins. I still remember hearing the trains go by. This must be where we heard their horns from.

BNSF track at S. Forest Road - Ogle County, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

I took this picture at the entrance to a business at the corner of Forest Road and County Road 6 for my brother-in-law Mark.

a picture for my brother-in-law Mark, who has a soft spot for pigs
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 6:30pm I was at the park.

White Pines Forest State Park - Mount Morris, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

As I was reading the check-in instructions, the ranger pulled up and said if I wanted to camp, I'd need to go to the west entrance of the park. I assumed this was due to the park's fords being impassable (at least for a bike). The ranger gave me good directions, just ones I didn't want to hear. Back on County Road 6 was a hill that I'd hoped not to face until the morning.

I made it up the hill and found the west entrance to the campground. I checked in with the camp host at the Cedar Campground. He let me bicycle around to pick the site I wanted - I decided site #14. The camp host filled out my registration form and took the $10 fee.

The next thing I did was get a Sierra Mist from the machine by the shower house, and sat at my picnic table for a rest.

Cedar Campground campsite #14 at White Pines Forest State Park - Mount Morris, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then on to unpacking the bike. The rear baskets on the bike were not wanting to let me have my stuff. They kept moving up as I pulled. That's when I noticed I'd shaken loose and lost the two front screws that secure the baskets to the bike.

rattled apart
Heart 0 Comment 0

I remembered I had one spare screw/nut set with me (for the brake), but I'd need two. Or maybe a tent stake would work. I wasn't too concerned at the time.

The wind had calmed down, so the tent received no help drying out after I had it set up.

a wet tent
Heart 0 Comment 0

I walked back to the shower house, this time for a root beer that I had with my supper of sardines and raisins.

The day hadn't turned out so bad, but there was still a chance of rain for overnight.

Subject: Day 22 report
Sent: Tuesday, 6-8-2010, 9:40 PM
Up at 5:10am. Had rain overnight. It stopped long enough to get the bike and gear under the camp's pavilion. Also got the tent down before it started again. Packed bike, paid camp fee ($19+1 (no change)), ate breakfast (pop tarts and raisins), put on rain gear, and left at 9:00am.
Ok, I'll admit today was hard going. Strong se wind with me going south and east. Arrived in forreston at 1:00pm. Constant rain with the wind until then.
Ate lunch at the subway there. It'd stop raining when I got back out. Wind was still present. Took route 72, pond road, and county 35 to mount morris. Wind was less after that (and now there's none to dry out the tent).
Arrived at white pines state park at 6:30pm, but had to go back out of the park and around to get to the campsite due to the fords being closed. At site 14 in cedar ridge campground at 7:00pm.
Bought two sodas from machine and had sardines and raisins for supper.
Noticed problem with rear basket mount. I have one spare screw/bolt (for brake) but may try using a tent stake to fix.
Lunch: $9.21; supper sodas: $2.60 (lost dime in machine); camp fee: $10.
40miles, 6.5mph moving average.
Jeff
Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Day Twenty-two: 40 miles in 10 hours, 0 minutes = 4.0 mph average progress.

Spent: $9.21 (lunch) + $10 (campsite fee) + $2.50 (sodas) = $21.71.

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 1,015 miles (1,633 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0