In Portimao: A day at the beach - Southern Spain and Portugal - CycleBlaze

November 5, 2017

In Portimao: A day at the beach

I've never been one for laying about at the beach, or for swimming either. A quick dip to cool off is okay. I'd much rather admire the scenery, as something about the ocean just takes my breath away. So that's what I did today. I looked at the ocean.

I got up and lingered over the hotel breakfast. It was good with a variety of choices, as suits a small hotel. Then I gathered up my things, and headed to Praia da Rocha, just south of Portimao on the Atlantic Ocean. I passed through the marina, full of fancy leisure boats, and some upscale hotels and condos.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I rode past the beach and out onto the end of the jetty, where there is a small lighthouse.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
There wasn't much fishing in the area, and a lot of the docks are posted no fishing, but I spotted this one guy casting.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then I found my way up onto the area above the beach, where the Santa Caterina de Ribamar fortress is. I actually missed the fortress on the way up. I had a hard time finding my way. The direct climb from the beach area had a lot of steps, so I rode out onto the main road and took a smaller (but steep!) road up. I rode past the eating establishments and souvenir shops to the Praia dos Tres Castelas, and on to Praia do Vau, where I stopped and took my shoes and socks off and waded into the Atlantic Ocean.

In the Atlantic Ocean, at the Praia do Vau.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The water was cool but not cold, and I might have been tempted to take a quick swim if it were easier to get changed and then dry off.

Then I headed back, stopping at the fortress before going to the square by my guesthouse. I stopped there for a gelato before heading to my room to clean up and rest before dinner.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The fortress.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The beaches are really beautiful. They aren't crowded (although people here think this is winter, so it may be different in summer), and there are a lot of options for food and drink nearby. Ok, I definitely see the attraction!

The wind was blowing hard today. It has been for a few days. I didn't complain about the headwind the last couple of days of riding, because I hadn't given credit to the tailwind when I had it. But it could make tomorrow's ride a challenge.

Today's ride: 19 km (12 miles)
Total: 677 km (420 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0