Packing the Bike - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

October 14, 2016

Packing the Bike

With a little more than one week to go, I decided it was time to pack up my bike. I wanted at least a few days to address any problems I found, so earlier was better for me.

I purchased an S&S backpack case for my bike to try to fit it in the airline regulation 62 linear inches (26" x 26" x 10"), along with some official S&S bike padding, a net for securing the bike parts inside the case, and 3 spacers (called "Compression Members") to help prevent stacked luggage from crushing the bike.

The basic bike disassembly was pretty easy.

My bike in pieces. Yes, I disassembled it inside my home.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had measured the various frame tubes before I ordered padding, and thought that I had plenty. When I actually cut the pieces and wrapped the tubes, it came up a bit short. The major tubes are all covered, but the seat stays are not. I had some damage on my last trip related to the cable quick connects pressing into the frame, so I made sure to move them to the outside of the padding and position them such that if the bike has other luggage stacked on top, the connectors won't be pushed into the frame tubes.

Fitting all the bike pieces and the wheels into the case was the big challenge. I followed the recommended sequence from S&S. My handlebars are different, so I just sort of fit them in, limited by both the shape and the front brake cable still attached to the fork. I was able to leave the fork in the front half of the frame.

It's in!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I probably could have gotten away without deflating the tires (from a packing standpoint), but they are deflated in case there are any airline questions. I did not fit the rear rack into the case, so it will go into my other bag. The Racktime rack I have is a little bulky where the stays attach to the top. Maybe after this trip I'll try to find a rack that is easier to pack. I removed the brake rotors from the front and rear wheels, just to avoid the risk of bending them, and they'll be sandwiched in cardboard and packed in my other bag. I've included most of my tools in the case, but my water bottles will go into the other bag unless I'm inspired to open the case and try to slide them in. Other than that, it's packed! The final weight (without the water bottles) is 45.6 pounds. It measures about a half inch too big in each dimension. I worked hard to avoid that with the cardboard box I used on my last trip, and I hope it isn't an issue.

Packed!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I slapped a bunch of "Fragile, Handle with Care" stickers on the case. Then I had second thoughts about alerting the airline. They peeled off rather easily, which I think means that they wouldn't have stayed in place, anyhow.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0