04/22/24 León - south - CycleBlaze

April 22, 2024

04/22/24 León

The ramp in the elevation profile is while my tracking app wasn’t tracking. It was basically a flat ride, would have been easy with less wind and more calories
Heart 0 Comment 0

I’m feeling better than yesterday and it only got to 96 so things are looking up.  It was a slow ride into León, which gives a better first impression than the other towns I’ve gone through.   The 1979 revolution is heavily memorialized here, León being the site of the first FSLN victory (I believe, judging by signage). The former city hall is now a museum of the revolution which I plan to visit tomorrow. There is “almost” a tourist destination feel to the city, mostly 20-something backpackers. I’ll be staying two nights and will attempt to explore, but reserve the option to just sit in the plaza and drink cold beverages if I find it too hot. 

About 10 miles into the day and feeling sluggish I found a place to sit in the shade and let life pass around me
Heart 1 Comment 0
Quite possibly my favorite picture of this trip
Heart 2 Comment 1
Yellow trumpet, I think is what my app called this. Definitely yellow
Heart 2 Comment 0
I found bike shop central coming into León. I could get tires here if I needed them
Heart 1 Comment 0
A small nursery taking up a corner of the plaza where I stopped to search for hotels
Heart 1 Comment 0
I didn’t get the impression this was still a functioning church, but it could just be the look
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretLost souls are always welcome !
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Luis spotted me and came over to say “Welcome to León!”. He’s back home 5 years now after a long absence, leaving his women problems behind in Costa Rica
Heart 0 Comment 0
The León cathedral next to the main plaza is massive
Heart 2 Comment 0
The largest cathedral in Central America it’s a full city block of building
Heart 2 Comment 0
Detail
Heart 1 Comment 0
The poet Rubén Darío is buried inside
Heart 0 Comment 0
This fellow was napping at his feet
Heart 0 Comment 0
The streets leading to the plaza are replete with memorials to revolutionaries, mostly Nicaraguan but many historical Latin American figures are included as well
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretHe was born two days before me!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Another church facing the plaza, with a funeral taking place at the time. I had a nice lunch at a sidewalk cafe here. Lunch included a couple of micheladas, which is what I think my diet has been lacking
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Hotel Austria is a block away from the plaza and very comfortable. With a fan it was possible to enjoy this hammock while working on this update
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 3,703 miles (5,959 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Karen PoretSo glad you seem to be doing better, David! Hope it keeps up!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago