04/20/24 Somotillo - south - CycleBlaze

April 20, 2024

04/20/24 Somotillo

Heart 0 Comment 0

It’s too hot for anything interesting to come into my head.  I made it into Nicaragua without any undue hassle, to my pleasant surprise. A lot of waiting, but in an air conditioned building. 

Nicely paved road
Heart 2 Comment 0
But with a high lip that crisscrossed the shoulder without rhyme or reason. It’s steep enough that at the wrong angle or speed it can be dangerous, so I had to always be on my toes
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretThe fence ( designs) are very intriguing!
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Leaving before sunrise, my shirt is sticking to my back with sweat almost immediately. There’s a brief sweet spot after sunrise where the humidity drops and it’s very pleasant cycling. Then the heat kicks it
Heart 2 Comment 0
Good morning to you, too
Heart 0 Comment 0
Calabash tree. I understand a drink is made from the dried seed pods
Heart 2 Comment 0
Trees dripping with mangoes
Heart 4 Comment 0
Pretty river
Heart 1 Comment 0
Big dreams
Heart 0 Comment 0
All the roadside houses get their yards swept and damped with water in the morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Siblings carrying full buckets of water. The youngest brother up front was struggling to keep from sloshing
Heart 0 Comment 0
Used to be a hill here, now it’s a field
Heart 0 Comment 0
Solar farm
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pretty view near the border
Heart 1 Comment 0
I got to the border around 9:30. It took me close to 2 hours to exit Honduras and enter Nicaragua, mostly spent in slow moving lines
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nicaragua on the left, Honduras on the right. My tires were fumigated with unknown chemicals as I entered
Heart 0 Comment 0
And here I sm
Heart 1 Comment 0
Mister! Money!
Heart 0 Comment 0
43 C is 109 F. I don’t think it was really that hot, but it was miserable enough
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not a lot to Somotillo
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was the nicest place in town. $30, good air conditioning
Heart 1 Comment 0
Too hot to enjoy the courtyard
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretEven the parrot in the cage is squawking ( HOT!) ;)
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
So many pedicabs
Heart 1 Comment 0
These and motorcycles seem to be the main transport around town
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 3,632 miles (5,845 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0