04/15/24 Santa Rosa de Lima - south - CycleBlaze

April 15, 2024

04/15/24 Santa Rosa de Lima

Heart 0 Comment 0

Once again up early and quit early, but now that I think about it I probably shouldn’t have quit so soon. I’m 10 miles from the border and it was early enough when I got to Santa Rosa de Lima that I could have made it across today, leaving me better placed for tomorrow’s ride. But there wouldn’t have been any pictures if I had. My phone got so hot the camera stopped working. Actually everything stopped working and I ended up cooling it down with ice cubes in order to find my hotel. A nice enough place, the A/C works. I keep thinking I still might go later in the afternoon, but it’s 4 pm and 103 outside, so maybe not. 

Plenty of activity on the early morning streets
Heart 1 Comment 0
The market set up was in full swing
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Karen Poret5 star bathroom? What connotes this?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
David ChavezI’m impressed by all the detail you spot!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
I stopped for a gas station coffee and had a proper breakfast about an hour later at a roadside comedor
Heart 0 Comment 0
The signs say no guns allowed and not responsible for any items taken from customers during robberies
Heart 0 Comment 0
This happened minutes before i arrived. The driver was clearing stuff out of the cab, looking unhappy instead of lucky to be uninjured
Heart 0 Comment 0
I didn’t see much to photograph, partly because there wasn’t much, partly because I was sleepy. These early starts are essential, but I’m feeling them
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cattle country
Heart 1 Comment 0
I find a Light of the World church with its distinctive building design in most towns of any size that I’ve passed through
Heart 0 Comment 0
Massive papayas
Heart 2 Comment 0
Image not found :(
There is so much advertising. Banners over streets, signs on poles. At first I thought the over street banners were festival stuff but it’s all advertising. Mostly commercial, some political. San Miguel was like this too, overpowering
Heart 0 Comment 0
My camera stopped working after this, and just before I got to the park and market where things were hopping. I meant to go back later, after getting a room and cooling down. I really did
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’ve been in here for the past 5 hours unable to find a reason to go outside and 103 reasons to stay inside
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretVery sad that people live in these conditions! Be glad you are “just passing thru”…
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
This is across from my room, doesn’t bode well for the morning
Heart 1 Comment 0
I ventured out in the late afternoon to get ice and snacks for tomorrow’s departure
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was that time of evening
Heart 0 Comment 0
Still hot
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 27 miles (43 km)
Total: 3,518 miles (5,662 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0