03/26/24 La Trinidad - south - CycleBlaze

March 26, 2024

03/26/24 La Trinidad

The shark teeth at the end were steep!
Heart 1 Comment 0

It was a beautiful cool morning as I rode out of town in good spirits. I’d decided that I’d head over to some lakes that were just past the turn off to an alternate border crossing and if I encountered any resistance I’d camp at the lakes but continue onto Guatemala if not. And I  didn’t, so I did.  

I had googled a place to stay about 25 miles past the border, but another cyclist who’d passed this way earlier told me about a place that rented rooms in La Trinidad, only 5 miles in. That’s the one I ended up stopping at, having found the afternoon temperatures a bit high and the hills very steep. I ended up walking my bike several times, which doesn’t bode well given what lies ahead. I decided during one of these strolls that I’m not going to be a cycle purist if these hills end up hurting too much. Knowing I can quit and hitchhike or bus whenever I want has calmed my anxiety. 

My last Mexican tamale breakfast
Heart 2 Comment 1
Karen PoretOh my goodness, David! The strap around the female in purple jacket and pink tennis shoes is the same plaid as my high school skirt from the 1960’s !
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Annoying rollers
Heart 2 Comment 0
Fires everywhere
Heart 1 Comment 0
Good black dirt
Heart 1 Comment 0
I don’t remember why I took this
Heart 3 Comment 1
Karen PoretPerspective of two wheels vs three? ;)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Forest fires in Guatemala
Heart 1 Comment 0
Roads are deteriorating
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I was stopped by an armed civilian entering the Mexican border town of Carmen Xhán, asked about destination, drugs and weapons
Heart 1 Comment 0
There’s no border post, you just have to know to stop at this office in town to get stamped out
Heart 2 Comment 1
Karen PoretMaybe the Grampies will get their stamp, too!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
I walked my bike into Guatemala
Heart 4 Comment 0
And found the office in Gracias a Dios where I got my Guatemala stamp
Heart 3 Comment 0
Big hill descending into Gracias a Dios
Heart 1 Comment 0
Timothy was very interested in who I was, where I came from, what I was doing and that my bike has a belt. It was fun to talk with him and his buddy whom he later called over
Heart 3 Comment 0
I thought it looked interesting
Heart 2 Comment 0
Gracias a Dios. Thank God I’m finally here!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Looking back over the town and deciding it didn’t look Mexican
Heart 2 Comment 0
Many houses have this look
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another hill that caused me pain
Heart 3 Comment 0
There’s a definite look
Heart 2 Comment 0
Got passed by the burros. I was walking this section
Heart 3 Comment 0
The forest fires again, apparently unchecked
Heart 1 Comment 0
This looks like hard living
Heart 1 Comment 0
There’s a definite look
Heart 1 Comment 0
La Trinidad side road
Heart 2 Comment 0
The car wash rents rooms for $8
Heart 2 Comment 0
Where this blog post was composed
Heart 2 Comment 1
Karen PoretIn the hammock?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Bathrooms out back
Heart 1 Comment 0
View from my window. Military inspection of vehicles bound for the border
Heart 2 Comment 0
My host stores corn in these mini silos
Heart 2 Comment 0
Lots of dogs, half of whom accept me, the others periodically bark at me
Heart 1 Comment 0
Geese too
Heart 1 Comment 0
The stores only sell warm beer, but this couple who live by the soccer field sell blocks of ice
Heart 3 Comment 0
Cold beer soon!
Heart 2 Comment 0
The town of La Trinidad
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 2,968 miles (4,777 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0