03/06/24 day off in Veracruz - south - CycleBlaze

March 6, 2024

03/06/24 day off in Veracruz

I spent the day wandering the streets, drinking coffee then micheladas and taking it easy. I found the weather to not be as oppressive as I’d feared, but when the sun breaks through it’s hot. I’m going to try to leave early and head down the coast a bit. I’ll decide if I want to go Yucatán or Chiapas depending on how this new cycling regime feels. 

I slept well in my quiet, top floor room at the Hotel Veracruz, I decided to stay a second night
Heart 1 Comment 0
I walked over to the waterfront. I have arrived
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Monument to the city’s battles. 1914 was a US invasion I never knew about
Heart 0 Comment 0
1847 was the US again. I knew about that one
Heart 0 Comment 0
1838 was the French
Heart 0 Comment 0
1825 was the Spanish
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had a mango on a stick
Heart 2 Comment 0
The zocalo is all blocked off for renovations
Heart 0 Comment 0
It’s not a great place for hanging out right now
Heart 1 Comment 0
There are a lot of buildings which have been abandoned and gone to seed
Heart 0 Comment 0
Many of these
Heart 1 Comment 0
I found a pleasant park
Heart 3 Comment 0
I drank micheladas and ate shrimp salads. This is the tablecloth from one of the places
Heart 1 Comment 0
Post and Telegraph building on the waterfront
Heart 3 Comment 0
I went inside
Heart 0 Comment 0
found an art exhibit
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0