01/20/24 San Miguel el Alto - south - CycleBlaze

January 20, 2024

01/20/24 San Miguel el Alto

Climbing again, but fairly gentle grades
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was another gloomy day, which makes for cool riding but not very easy on the eyes. I was on the toll road for a while, then cut east on a regular road with minimal shoulder but also minimal traffic which I found much more pleasant. The noise on the toll road can get so tiresome.  When I got to San Miguel el Alto I went to one of the three hotels Google lists and found it fully booked and was told all the others would be as well. That’s when I learned about the pilgrimage to San Juan de los Lagos that happens every year at this time.  Lucky for me there was one Airbnb still available otherwise I’d be in the plaza with a lot of pilgrims and most certainly not sleeping. 

Looking back at Tepatitlan as I left in the morning
Heart 1 Comment 0
Off the toll road. No shoulder and no cars. I used the bus stop for my lunch break
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
An enjoyable stretch
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Welcome to San Miguel el Alto, Architectural Jewel
Heart 2 Comment 0
This very impressive sculpture was next to a gas station on the outskirts of town
Heart 4 Comment 0
Dedicated to his parents. Makes one wonder
Heart 3 Comment 0
I went to the plaza for beer and botanas while I looked for alternate housing on my phone. Modern travel is so easy, you can get away with little to no planning
Heart 2 Comment 0
David at the next table bought me a tequila to welcome me to town. His buddy Kim, on the right, was so hungover he didn’t participate much in our chit chat
Heart 2 Comment 0
Taxis
Heart 3 Comment 0
Pastries in the plaza
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Free public WiFi which actually works. I could walk around town with cell in airplane mode and stay connected. Not terribly fast, but connected. Impressive
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’d love to see inside these houses. The few times I get peeks there are courtyards and gardens
Heart 0 Comment 0
I walked up to the big church on the hill above town
Heart 1 Comment 0
A sculptor shop next to the church. The stone that makes up most of the buildings is called “cantera” which translates to “quarry stone” but which I’m pretty sure is rhyolite
Heart 2 Comment 0
It carves well
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking down at the center of town
Heart 2 Comment 0
Most of the city core is made of this stone
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bridge across the river through the middle of the town
Heart 2 Comment 0
smelly river
Heart 0 Comment 0
According to the sign outside this houses a parroquial bookstore
Heart 2 Comment 0
It’s next the the main church, whose clock actually works
Heart 2 Comment 0
Pilgrims camping in the plaza
Heart 0 Comment 0
Many without tents. There were several support vehicles, basically pickups with stoves in the back and people cooking up meals
Heart 0 Comment 0
The plaza was very busy
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were several groups of old men playing dominoes
Heart 2 Comment 0
And this guy
Heart 2 Comment 1
Susan ForsNorth Face 🤣
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Although my phone said no rain, it began thundering quite loudly and soon started pouring
Heart 2 Comment 0
These tents were quickly moved out of the open and under cover. Nobody seemed particularly bothered by the rain
Heart 1 Comment 0
Portable toilets for the camping pilgrims
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bikes getting wet. Sniff
Heart 1 Comment 0
Still flipping burgers in spite of the rain
Heart 3 Comment 0
Waiting for the rain to stop so I can walk back to my Airbnb and collect my clothes I’d left “drying” outside
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 33 miles (53 km)
Total: 1,410 miles (2,269 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0