Cyclist and Bike - Silver and Gold 2021 - CycleBlaze

Cyclist and Bike

I planned this tour in 2020 during the depths of the pandemic, hoping it could be my first bike tour after getting the COVID vaccine. I was fortunate to get the vaccine in April and the COVID restrictions in California looked manageable for a motel tour. Every county allows indoor dining and most businesses are open. In early April I committed to do the tour from May 11-24, 2021. I reserved all the lodging in advance. The schedule is fixed, for better or worse.

The route is very hilly. My 60th birthday is 2 weeks after the tour. Soon I won't be able to do such a hilly route. It might be my last chance to pedal through this challenging region.

I started the tour weighing 182 pounds (83 kg) which is pretty good for me.

Heart 3 Comment 0

The bike is a 2007 Bacchetta Giro 20 short wheelbase recumbent which has been used for many tours. It has a Bacchetta Euro-Mesh seat with a Ventisit seat pad.

The current setup is for motel tours. Under the seat are a Terracycle rack and heavily worn Arkel RT-40 panniers. The bike handles beautifully with cargo weight very low between the axles.

Tires are 40mm wide Schwalbe Marathon Racers. Only 3 miles of this route is unpaved, but the tires perform well on unpaved roads and trails.

Gearing is very low. The lowest gear is a 24T chainring and 34T cog driving a 26-inch rear wheel.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Kelly IniguezHave you tried to buy any tires lately? I spent the better part of one evening trying to find Marathon Racer tires. I finally located some at Utah Trikes - the shipping was $52. for four tires. Luckily, the tires were on sale $34. from $44., so I justified the price that way.

BTW, 60 is not too old to do a climbing route . . . . come and join us in September and we will prove you wrong! You will go crazy taking photos all over the place and not have a chance to be tired with so many rest breaks!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago