Getting ready - Bicycling SF to LA on the Pacific Coast - CycleBlaze

Getting ready

Hi there, I'm Andrew from the Bay Area, CA.

Back in 2020, I had planned to bike from SF to LA, but COVID canceled those plans. I ended up doing the TransAmerica trail in 2021 instead (Virginia to Oregon). During that trip, I met a guy named Nick who was biking across the country in the opposite direction. Later on, Nick biked from SF to LA on the Pacific Coast and made a great video which reminded me of wanting to do it too.

I’ll be attending a wedding in the LA area in mid-October so decided it would be a good opportunity to do the ride. I’ll be riding with a friend and we’re planning to bike ~500 miles in ~9 days. We'll be roughly following section 4 and part of section 5 of Adventure Cycling Association's Pacific Coast Route.

Adventure Cycling Association - Pacific Coast Section 4
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'll be taking my Salsa Vaya steel bike with two Ortlieb panniers to carry our stuff. I used this bike for my TransAmerica tour in 2021 and it served me well (or at least I learned the hard way that tubeless gravel tires were not suitable for road touring). Including biking across Iowa in 2019, this will be my third multi-day tour.

The bike - 2020 Salsa Vaya GRX
Heart 3 Comment 0

I've been talking to some people online who have biked this recently and they said it's been great. Nice weather and virtually no traffic. Looking forward views of the Pacific Ocean.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0