Suddenly Summer - East Glacier to Eastern Maine - CycleBlaze

May 29, 2019

Suddenly Summer

Deer Lake to Floodwood

Heart 1 Comment 2
Michael WallaceThe switch between time and distance feature is interesting--not sure I understand exactly how to translate. Time changes at a constant speed (kind of by definition), but distance does not. Distance changes at a constant what? Distance? A minute always takes a minute, but may take 300 yards or 600 yards; a mile always takes a mile, but may take three minutes or six minutes.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeffrey WaldoTo Michael WallaceWhen the lower graph is in 'time' mode I think the data refers to how long we spent at a certain elevation, not how far we traveled. For example, at 26:52 we ceased moving and began moving again at 31:44. Maybe because of a photo break. We remained at a constant elevation of 1263 feet but traveled no distance.

Perhaps a seeming connection is created because the 'time' and 'distance' mode graphs are the same size, and the reader can easily toggle back and forth, but I don't think there is a mathematical connection between the two modes.

But I stand ready to be corrected should someone provide a convincing explanation.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

Jackie’s avg speed: 10.3 mph
Scott’s avg speed: 13.4 mph
Weather: sunny, 55-75 degrees, south-southwest breeze, 6mph

This was officially the first day of summer for our bicycle adventure. I put on  bike shorts with no tights for the first time. Scott shed his jacket, I kept on a windbreaker to continue my “sweat cure.” (I think it’s working. The sore throat has given way to sneezing and coughing, but I can take a good deep breath, so this is a superficial thing). We saw another unmistakable sign of spring, pukh, the soft white fluff sloughed off from the Balsam poplars or aspens. (Pukh is the Russian term, not to be confused with puk which means to pass gas). 

We were on the road at 08:39 in full unambiguous sunshine and a fresh light breeze. We had an easy 17 miles to Grand Rapids (not to be confused with the city of the same name in Michigan). Scott stopped at the highway sign for the town. “When we get to the third traffic light, we need to turn left and go to the police station. I found a checkbook on the road.” Maybe his perception is keener because of his hearing loss. He has a sharp eye and finds all kinds of things on the side of the highway. Outside Grand Forks he picked up an almost new fancy mesh fishing vest and presented it to his brother. On this day, he turned the checkbook over to the police, we availed ourselves of the clean restroom and were back on our way.

I had made arrangements to meet my cousin in Swan River, 35 miles away, between 12:00 and 12:30. She has a hobby farm in Ogilvie and keeps a few fancy pedigree sheep and breeds fancy pedigree sheepdogs. She had an 85-mile drive straight north up County Road 65. I had not seen her for 41 years and wanted to be on time. Thirty-five miles in three and a half hours seemed easy peasy. 

Seemed. No head wind, nice weather, fresh breeze. A few low hills and the same wide shoulder. The cracks stretching the width of the shoulder though were super annoying. Each lump was like a break, because the tire would catch in the crack, then lose speed on the up side. Scott said his larger circumference wheels mitigated the cracks somewhat. When the going gets tough, the cranky claim a driving lane! The road itself had been repaved on one lane with soft smooth asphalt. Worried about being late for lunch, I started riding on the “fast lane,” checking my rear view mirror, and moving over when a car came up behind. I saw Scott up ahead doing the same. I had been closing the gap until he started using the same advantage. Ahhhh. 12 mph uphill! We pulled in to the Lucky Seven Roadhouse at 12:02, just 30 seconds before my cousin. 

Who wouldn’t claim that nice smooth lane instead of the bumpy option?
Heart 4 Comment 0

We spent two hours “speed reminiscing,” then hugged and went back to our jobs. Scott and I had only 17 miles to go to our destination, Floodwood, named after the river which used to flood after being clogged with driftwood. Along the way, we saw fresh water marshes that appeared to have drowned the trees, also a plausible explanation, in our minds anyway.

A marsh about 12 miles west of Floodwood. Looks like a flooded wood to us.
Heart 3 Comment 0

We relaxed and pedaled, no more deadlines to meet. When we arrived at 15:40, I went straight to the post office to pick up my glasses that our caretaker in Bigfork had mailed to me. The left temple of my wire frame glasses broke back in Grand Forks. I opened the package – yes, he found the right pair. No more sunglasses at night, life was coming back in balance. 

We checked out the city campground located on the river. The ground was muddy with some open puddles and the showers grungy. Maybe an adventure for another time. I wanted a hard clean structure, at least until I was over this cold. We checked in at the Stardust Motel, a “boutique” motel with a little more aesthetic flair than the chain motels. $75 including tax. Decent wifi. We had Mrs. Dash-infused Beef Stew for dinner, Bush Light, herbal tea, cocoa, thin mint Oreos. I oiled my bike, which I’ve been doing regularly since Minot, and then was ready for bed.

Beaver work place
Heart 3 Comment 0
Eagle perch
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 1,118 miles (1,799 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
DIANE BOKORNow that I am am caught up on your adventure, I can hardly wait for the next episode. Going to FF this morning. Will give them all a report on your escapades. Perhaps do a reading from the blog.
Carry On!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jackie McKennanSo glad to know you’re following us! More coming.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago