Day 51: Waiting out a storm in Refugio - Southwest U.S. Coast-to-Coast 2012 - CycleBlaze

April 16, 2012

Day 51: Waiting out a storm in Refugio

Today I stayed at the motel in Refugio. It rained heavily until 1:30 PM. Refugio got 4.5 inches (11.2 cm) of rain.

Corpus Christi got 10 inches (25 cm) of rain and had 3 tornadoes close to my route. Many roads were flooded for hours. If I biked today I would have cooler temperatures and a strong tailwind, but today is not a good day to pedal to Corpus Christi.

Tomorrow I will still have the tailwind and cooler temperature, but hopefully no rain and no flooded roads.

This Refugio mansion needs some work.
Heart 0 Comment 0

My original plan was to pedal to Port Aransas this morning and spend the afternoon at a beach. Then pedal to Corpus Christi tomorrow to meet my parents.

Tomorrow I need to get all the way to Corpus Christi. The long distance should be easy with a tailwind and flat terrain. But I won't have much time for beach stops.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltThank goodness you were able to stay in a hotel when the storms/tornadoes were in Refugio!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago