Day 26: To Alamogordo via White Sands National Monument - Southwest U.S. Coast-to-Coast 2012 - CycleBlaze

March 22, 2012

Day 26: To Alamogordo via White Sands National Monument

It was very windy overnight with a low of 45F. I got on the road at 9:05.

Morning view of the Organ mountains from my campsite.
Heart 2 Comment 0

First is a big 850 foot descent to the valley. The campground is in a lush high desert environment with many junipers. But the road rapidly descends into an arid valley.

I stopped again at the camp host trailer to fill water bottles before climbing 650 feet up to US 70. Yellow flowers bloomed all around.

Organ mountains from the road to Aguirre Springs campground.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Back on US 70 I pedaled northeast, downhill into the wide flat Tularosa valley. US 70 is a 4-lane divided highway all the way to Alamogordo. It doesn't have enough traffic to really need 4 lanes. Perhaps one justification is the two large military bases.

On US 70 I encountered a group of 5 guys walking from Mesa, Arizona to Chicago. They were on the opposite side of the wide divided highway, so I was only able to shout a few words with them. I noted that they use backpacks, not push carts.

One minute later I saw two west bound touring cyclists on the other side of the highway. One was pedaling a European style cargo bike with remote steering and a large low floor in front of the cyclist. He had a huge plastic tote on the cargo floor. I wish I could get a picture. His bike is probably heavier than mine.

These guys are walking cross-country from Mesa, Arizona to Chicago.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Typical situation when I stop on the side of the road. I guess I won't sit on this rock.
Heart 0 Comment 0

During the morning I had nice views of the Organ mountains behind me. An even bigger mountain range is ahead of me to the east, gradually appearing out of the haze as I pedal closer.

Looking back at the Organ mountains from US 70.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking ahead at White Sands and snow-capped Sierra Blanca.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After 35 miles of monotonous straight and flat US 70 I turned left into White Sands National Monument. The park has a 15 mile scenic road in the world's largest field of gypsum (calcium sulfate) sand dunes. Only half of the scenic loop is paved.

White Sands National Monument.
Heart 2 Comment 0

It's spring break, so many families with young children are here to play in the dunes.

Recreation area at White Sands National Monument.
Heart 0 Comment 0

On the way out of the park I stopped to hike the 1 mile Dune Life Nature trail. I enjoyed getting deep into the dunes, out of sight from the road.

White Sands National Monument.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The unpaved road packs very nicely. It's hard and fast except for occasional sections where sand blows onto the road.

Half of the 15-mile White Sands loop road is unpaved.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Northeast of White Sands is snow-covered Sierra Blanca peak, elevation 11,981 ft. (3652 m). The town of Ruidoso is near there. Tomorrow I will cross the mountains farther south at Cloudcroft.

White Sands and Sierra Blanca (Spanish for White Mountain).
Heart 1 Comment 0
Visitor center courtyard at White Sands National Monument.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After the White Sands excursion I still had another 15 miles on US 70 to Alamogordo. On my left is Holloman Air Force Base. I pedaled into town on US 70 Business, past many motels and restaurants. On the north end of town I got a $39 room at the Alamo Inn motel.

Alamogordo is an Air Force town with a diverse population from all across the country. I saw black people for the first time in a long time. I bought an 8 ounce fuel canister at WalMart.

Today was sunny all day with a high of 75F and a gentle 5 mph northwest wind. Perfect. Today's distance is long and it includes 7 miles on packed sand. But it was fairly easy because of the gentle terrain, cooperative wind, and 1300 foot net descent.

I enjoyed the contrast between two special places I saw today. The enchanting high desert campsite at Aguirre Springs and the barren dunes of White Sands.

Distance: 77.4 mi. (124 km)

Climbing: 1347 ft. (408 m)

Average Speed: 12.2 mph (19.5 km/h)

Hiking: 1 mi. (1.6 km)

Today's ride: 77 miles (124 km)
Total: 1,410 miles (2,269 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0