Day 14: To Tucson Mountain Park - Southwest U.S. Coast-to-Coast 2012 - CycleBlaze

March 10, 2012

Day 14: To Tucson Mountain Park

A border patrol vehicle drove up to my hidden campsite at 8 AM. The driver didn't roll down a window, wave or speak to me at all. He just spoke a few words on the 2-way radio (no smugglers, just a crazy bike traveler) and drove off. I wonder if the helicopter flying over last night detected me with an infrared sensor.

I got on the road at 8:50, going east on highway 86 through the Tohono O' Odham reservation. It was gradual uphill for 20 miles, climbing to the north flank of the Quinlan mountains. The north wind was a crosswind that didn't really slow me down.

Looking into the sun at the Quinlan mountains and Kitt Peak observatory.
Heart 1 Comment 0

At 3000 feet elevation the desert becomes mostly forested with Palo Verde trees (Spanish for green wood). The trees are bare now, with distinctive lime green branches.

The desert becomes increasingly lush as I climb above 3000 feet elevation.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Shrines are common along the roadside.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The high point is 3500 feet elevation at the turnoff to Kitt Peak observatory.

I didn't have time or energy for the 3400 foot climb to the observatory.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltThat would be a haul to get up to the Kitt Peak Observatory! But great views once there, I'm sure.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Then a long gradual downhill towards Tucson. The trees fade away and creosote bushes dominate the landscape again.

Coyote mountains southwest of Tucson.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Highway 86 has no paved shoulder in the reservation, but just east of the reservation a shoulder is being added to the highway.

Paved shoulder under construction on highway 86 west of Tucson.
Heart 0 Comment 0
New paved shoulder on highway 86.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I stopped for lunch at Three Points (Robles Junction). There are surprisingly few services today considering the traffic and proximity to a city.

First view of suburban Tucson in the distance.
Heart 0 Comment 0

On the edge of south suburban Tucson I turned left (northwest) onto Kinney road, towards Tucson Mountain Park. It's a very popular Pima county park that showcases the Sonoran desert only 10 miles from Tucson. Immediately east of the park is Tucson mountain. East of the mountain is the city of Tucson.

Tucson mountain. The city of Tucson is behind the mountain.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The road climbs gently for several miles before entering the park. I pedaled through the park and turned left on the McCain loop road, then left into the campground, arriving at 4:30 PM. Tent sites are $10 and the campground was nearly full.

The road through Tucson Mountain Park is a popular route for Tucson area cyclists.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Tucson Mountain Park campground is truly enchanting, surrounded by Sonoran desert vegetation. Almost as scenic as the Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument campground, but much closer to civilization. It doesn't have showers, so I made my own shower.

Sonoran desert at Tucson Mountain Park.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltI see the Ocotillo plant in your photo. :) When I biked the Southern Tier, I had bought a postcard of the various kinds of cacti and put it in my handlebar bag, and would circle the ones that I saw along my ride. :)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Closeup of a flowering Ocotillo tip.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltI didn't know the Ocotillo has those spikes on it!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

I walked around the campground looking at all the interesting cactus. This is my last opportunity to camp in a cactus forest.

View from the campground at Tucson Mountain Park.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Twilight at my campsite, Tucson Mountain Park.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today was sunny with a north wind and a high of 65F. Cooler than normal, but not bad.

I saw many border patrol vehicles on the road today even though I'm relatively far from the border.

Distance: 59.2 mi. (95 km)

Climbing: 1271 ft. (385 m)

Average Speed: 11.6 mph (18.6 km/h)

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 777 miles (1,250 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0