Telluride - Following the rails - CycleBlaze

August 10, 2022

Telluride

Sawpit to Priests Lakes

Instead of taking the busy highway directly up to Telluride, I will use the old railroad route, which loops around to enable an easier climb. I'm unsure what the surface will be like but that is part of the experience.

Thankfully not long after the small town of Sawpit, a rough track is beside the flowing San Miguel River. Still it's a more relaxing ride as it's more shaded and I don't have to worry about vehicles.

From here, I can cycle on the old railroad route
Heart 0 Comment 0
the old railroad route
Heart 0 Comment 0

Eventually a descending road option becomes available to lead me away from the main road to Vance Junction. Where a branch line lead away from the main line up to Telluride. Initially it's a wide trail before after a rebuilt bridge, the trail becomes single track.

For the most part I'm able to cycle up on a railway grade as it climbs above the valley below. However there are times when it's rocky and due to my pannier bags hitting rocks, it's easier for me to walk. Allowing me to admire the views.

Rougher track climbing up to Telluride on the branch line
Heart 0 Comment 0
I walked a few times
Heart 0 Comment 0

Thankfully a more consistent trail soon comes about. As the valley flattens out, a paved trail appears. It's soon follows the main road, rather than the former rail route. However, for some reason there are regular cracks across the trail. Thankfully the view of the large rock wall at the end of the valley is an easy distraction.

Underpass artwork
Heart 1 Comment 0
Approaching Telluride
Heart 1 Comment 0
Telluride main street
Heart 1 Comment 0
View from north of Telluride
Heart 0 Comment 0

Telluride is touristy, so after looking around for a while, my bicycle and I join a free gondola to Mountain Village. With my bicycle still having my bags on it, hanging off the back of gondola, I'm concerned something may fall off.

Gondola Ride
Heart 0 Comment 0

Thankfully nothing falls off and so I'm now much higher. As I leave this Alpine village and meet the main road heading south, I see I have missed a steep climb up from Telluride.

Thankfully the rest of my afternoon ride is easy as the rail route slowly becomes visible climbing up the valley below. Eventually as the rail route crosses the highway, I'm able to join it, as it makes its way to a basic free campsite at Priests Lakes.

A few campers are at this scenic spot, which just has a drop toilet and picnic tables next to an alpine lake. Allowing me a relaxing night.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Priests Lake
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0