Rio Southern - Following the rails - CycleBlaze

August 14, 2022

Rio Southern

to Durango

Above Target Tree Campground is the former route of the Rio Southern Railroad. After walking my bicycle up a steep track, I'm on a well used dirt track, which with a few cuttings was clearly a route a train went. 

It's a relaxing ride, while down below I can see the highway is hilly. However the further east I go, the rougher it's becoming and as a few ATV's pass me, I know why. Eventually a rock wall and a sign says that only non-motorized traffic can continue. The right of way is covered by a large puddle, so perhaps I should leave the formation and take a side road down to the road. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Still a decent ride
Heart 0 Comment 0



Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not sure what the trail is like past this puddle
Heart 0 Comment 0

Since I have plenty of time to get to Durango, I will see what the trail is like past the puddle. After figuring out the best way to get around the puddle, the trail is now a single horse track, which at times is okay to ride but other times it's rough. While my panniers are constantly hitting shrubs.

As it becomes even more overgrown, numerous faint trails are branching off. So I'm confused what is the correct path. Maps.me is not much help, so I will try what I hope is the most obvious track.

Unfortunately soon the trail splits even more, and a few fences are around, so now I'm in someone's cow paddock. As I look again on Maps.me, I see that the GPS dot has moved off the dotted former rail line. So I leave my bike and begin searching for the rail formation.

After an unsuccessful search, perhaps I should just take a random goat track which appears to lead down to the highway visible below. However, I will have one more look above to see if I can find the rail right of way.

I still believe I'm on the rail right of way
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Narrower trail now
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Eventually after walking through puddles and crossing over a fence line. I think an embankment is the rail formation.

After avoiding most of the cow poo, lifting my bike over a fence and dragging my bike up the embankment. I'm back on the rail formation, which for the most part looks okay to cycle.

It's actually not too bad to ride but still as I'm approaching a house, I'm looking forward to getting back to a road.

Unfortunately as a house appears, a fence and a no trespassing sign is across the trail.  With the road not far away I will have to search for a way around. I'm hoping a track heading off the formation, may lead to the road.

The track is narrow and it soon appears to be leading me away from the road, so instead I bush bash towards an open space. However a fence is still in the way.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Eventually I just jump the fence and make my way to a road via a famers paddock. Which leads me to the highway but a wooden gate is blocking my path to the highway.

Thankfully it automatically opens for me.

Once over a short climb, it's a quick descent to Durango by using a secondary road. Which includes quickly going through Wildcat Canyon, which I believe the train also went through.

Wildcat Canyon
Heart 0 Comment 0

My first call in Durango is the railroad depot. Part of the roundhouse is a free museum allowing me to learn more about the rail history of here and overall Colorado. While paid tours of the railway workshops are offered.

I'm the only person on the tour, which is okay as I learn more about how the railroad operates.

After admiring the touristy but scenic main street, my Warmshower host Charles messages me to say he is home. As I find his  address, I realise that it's an old school and that his family lives in an old classroom.

Charles and his tween son Raleigh say they are going for a swim, so I head off with them by bike to a fast flowing river. Despite clearly white water rafting happening here, we all go for a swim in a river which pushes us along.

Once again, as we eat a pasta pesto dinner on their rooftop, dark clouds are appearing all around Durango.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Peter BrownThanks Joel, that was a fun read. I know a journal is hard to keep up. Your combination of train interest and bicycling is interesting. I worked on the NYC subway lines as a track worker years ago.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Joel EmoTo Peter BrownThanks Peter, I have many more days to add to this journal. When I have spare time I will do so.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Wayne EstesI hope you can find the time to finish this journal. I've enjoyed it. A unique route.
Back in 2017 I really enjoyed ONE WAY rides on the Durango-Silverton and Cumbres & Toltec narrow gauge railroads. I'm curious to know your impression if you rode them.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Joel EmoTo Wayne EstesI'm away at the moment but I hope to finish the journal in December.

Some of your journals were an inspiration for my journey.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Wayne EstesA couple of my journals were completed a full year after the tour ended.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago