Up and Away! - Rise Again! Fall/Winter 2019 - CycleBlaze

January 11, 2019

Up and Away!

Nine days! We are just "over the top" to see that Dodie is pedaling her bike nine days after surgery.  I was out in the workshop rebuilding a lawn tractor, when she called me from the door. "Hey, come see this!".

I had an idea of what it could be, but we are still days before our own hoped for point of spinning the bike. But yes, she had snuck up onto her bike and done ten rotations. Just experimentally she had brought the left knee up to the top of the stroke, and then thought "Oh, what the heck". Over she went, and then again, and again.

It seems in one sense kind of silly to make so much of someone sitting on a trainer and rotating the pedals a few times. Certainly, on a long distance cycling blog site like this, it's so much less than so what.  On the other hand, for Dodie, the heavy narcotic pain killing meds have not even been fully tapered out yet.  Three days ago, I was still lifting her leg onto the bed. Then suddenly she was "jumping" in on her own. And now this. We are so pleased!

Have a look. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 9
Marilyn DennisonWay to go, Dodie. I sent a link to this thread for my colleague who had a knee replacement 5 days ago. She read all the posts and comments and immediately refilled her pain meds. Thanks for helping her through this journey.

What a difference experience makes. I am waiting to read about your Austria tour.

Ed and Marilyn in Dania Beach
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltAs the guys who play vintage baseball say on a particularly good play...

HUZZAH!

I knew you could do it after that great start!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonHooray! Believe me, I know how big this is. I’m sure I’ll never forget how frightening it was trying to get the courage to go over the top for the first time after my surgery. Congratulations!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Rachael AndersonThat’s fabulous news! I don’t think it’s at all silly writing about such a great accomplishment. Dodie, you are a great inspiration. I hope I’m that tough when I have to go through something similar. We look forward to meeting both of you. Thanks for all your wonderful comments on our journal.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Sue PriceWow! Dodie you are Superwoman! Or I guess The Bionic Woman! Either way, pretty darn impressive! I notice you even have your bar bag on the bike, so you really are ready to roll on out the door! So happy for you!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Ron SuchanekWow, I'm very impressed. You've successfully made me feel like a lazy slug!
Congrats on the recovery!!
Ron and Jen
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Suzanne GibsonYoohoo! That's great! So happy for you, Dodie!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Janet Anspach-RickeyDodie, It's so fun to see you up on the bike pedaling full turns with both knee surgeries behind you! I had a run in with a pitbull and couldn't put weight on my knee for a couple days and I was So relieved when I could pedal again. It'll be so good to watch you get back on your ebike! God speed! Janet
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Glen AdamsCongratulations, may the rest of your recovery go well. My grand daughters pop had both knees done AT THE SAME TIME! Goodness knows how he survived the first few weeks but blessing all is going well. So hope the same for you. I think one at a time is more sensible.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago