Day 5: Cyclists all over! - Ride And Seek - CycleBlaze

June 14, 2014

Day 5: Cyclists all over!

Finally Leo can stop moaning about not seeing any eastbound cross country cyclists!

Today we had our fill of them, starting in Scott City with Zane, who we met at a little diner while we were finishing up lunch.

Actually, I think it is a bit early to see the mass of riders? It seems to me that most people start in late May, early June, so they are only just making it to our neck of the woods. More are probably on the way. Still, it was nice to see them.

The other nice thing was the slight cross-tail winds, which were a realh treat after yesterday.

And speaking of winds and terrain. When I rode through Kansas in 2010 I was under the impression that I was some kind of awesome studdett cyclist. Now I know the truth, that Kansas actually tilts downwards the further you move east, and those west winds can really blow. So, now that I am riding mostly up, into headwinds, I have discovered that I am only an average, ordinary, run of the mill person who really has no super powers at all, at least when it comes to cycling.

Anyway, tomorrow is another day. Unless god decides that today is our last day with Mr. Sun?

Leo ambling along in Kansas
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Zane. Our first cross-country cyclist. Scott City Kansas
Heart 0 Comment 0
....and the bikes. Zane has a Trucker too, which clearly makes him a class act.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Leo trying to make the Leoti, Kansas sign his own, by covering up the TI
Heart 0 Comment 0
Leo up the road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Typical Kansas scene
Heart 0 Comment 0
A feed yard. I sure wish this web site had scratch and sniff. Or maybe I dont.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Finding things to find, on the road. In Kansas its corn.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More east bounders
Heart 0 Comment 0
...and another east bounder.
Heart 0 Comment 0
....and even MORE east bounders.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 395 miles (636 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0