Tooling around - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

June 17, 2022

Tooling around

Enjoying a loop I've never quite put together before

IT WAS A DIFFICULT DILEMMA: should I take the most direct route home, or the longer, lumpier, and shadier path?  The direct route had a couple things going for it, in particular a 12-15 mph breeze that would be directly behind me for nearly the entire 18 miles.  It also follows very good roads or has decent-enough side paths.  

On the down side, there's a lot of pretty exposed roadway (and it was nearing 90ºF at decision time) and those good roads are a main traffic conduit albeit there is a marked bike lane nearly the entire way, and broad shoulders for much of it as well.  Another negative was the amount of repeat: the final several miles were the inbound lanes of roads I'd traveled outbound, earlier in the day.  On the other hand, since I've traveled every inch of the possible variations countless times, it's not as though I was really out for seeing new-to-me sights.

The road less traveled has- surprise, surprise- far fewer cars and considerably more shade.  But it's also a few miles farther, on poorer surfaces, and notably lumpier so the shade has to be paid for in other ways.  Also, of course, the trees that provide the shade tend to also reduce the strength of the wind, meaning the tailwind would provide less assistance.

Before I faced that choice and decision, I'd had a really pleasant ride.  The stiff, light frame and wheelset of my road bike helped me ghost along with minimal effort, gobbling up the miles and making relatively short work of the rises as I worked my way from home toward the South Germantown recreational complex.  

Passing through I noticed, for the first time, that the complex actually includes at least one (and presumably more than one, based on the designation) cricket pitch.  I've begun following the game and have come to enjoy watching it, so it was interesting to find that there's apparently enough interest locally to merit establishment of a public pitch.  One of these days I'll have to go see if I can actually manage to catch a match in progress.

Fields I've passed earlier in the year have matured from young shoots to nearly ripe, ready-for-harvest wheat.  The corn is well up but needs a couple months more before it'll be ready.  The orchards and farm stands are starting to open, presumably selling early-season berries and related products; it's too soon yet for apples or peaches.

At one point I arrived at the shore of Little Seneca Lake, so I took the opportunity to scout for potential kayak launching sites.  Sure enough, there is a designated put-in right where I was so it's bookmarked in my memory for future use.  I doubt I'll get to it before I leave town for the summer, though.

Traffic was light, as ever on the back roads of the part of the county designated as an Agricultural Reserve.  There are a couple houses I've long admired out there.  As I passed the first of them I spotted the owner out in the front yard walking her dog, so I pulled in and told her how much I have admired her home, for the past 35 years.  She was, of course, delighted to receive the compliment and we had several minutes of enjoyable chitchat before I set off again.

Arriving in Poolesville around 11:00 it seemed the perfect opportunity for an early lunch so I headed for my now de facto default eatery, a small pizzeria.  They distinguish themselves by serving pizza by the slice but the slices are cut from a 24 inch pie and are ENORMOUS.  The first time I visited I ordered two slices but the lady warned me off; I'm very glad to have heeded her advice.

Lunch over, it was time to think about how to get home.  In the end I opted for the more direct route, feeling like the tailwind was just too much of a boon to pass up.  And there were indeed stretches where I sailed along comfortably, doing well over 20 mph almost without effort.  I still stopped for a shade break, a scant five miles from home, which enabled me to get home in relative comfort and without duress.  A nice cool shower washed the sweat of the ride (and the sunscreen) away, and now I'm just comfortably tired without being exhausted.  It was a great, confidence-building ride and I'm pleased to have made the most of the opportunity.

I had a lovely tailwind for the last 18 miles.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0