Tallinn: A gem of a place - The Really Long Way Round - CycleBlaze

September 18, 2013

Tallinn: A gem of a place

I'm thinking of printing this as a postcard
Heart 1 Comment 0

After a staggeringly beautiful sunrise at the beach I gathered myself to push on to the capital city of Tallinn. There were some light showers in the air but that was okay because the benches in Estonia come with umbrellas:

Charming country, this
Heart 0 Comment 0
For a flat country, Estonia comes up with some really special nature. More points on the awesomeness scale awarded here
Heart 1 Comment 0

On to Tallinn. I hadn't been too sure that I wanted to come here initially because this wasn't the most direct route towards Latvia and my onward journey, but finally I decided to visit, and I was glad that I did. The old town is a real gem of a place, on a hill with narrow sloping streets and quaint old buildings and churches galore. The old walls of the town are in unusually good shape and everything was just really rather lovely. Here are some pictures:

On my way into Tallinn, looking toward the city behind the cruise ships. I loved all the little rock islands with seagulls and ducks and ravens occupying them.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There was some sort of a competition to design artistic gardens on small plots in a park. It was a really great use of the space. Behind you see part of the city walls.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking down on the old town
Heart 1 Comment 0
High fashion on the streets of old Tallinn
Heart 1 Comment 0
The main square
Heart 1 Comment 0
A self-portrait, just in case you were forgetting what I looked like
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 82 km (51 miles)
Total: 5,978 km (3,712 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0