Introduction: Really it's a long way - The Really Long Way Round - CycleBlaze

Introduction: Really it's a long way

So I had this brillant idea to cycle around the world. I'd get the affable Charley Boorman to accompany me, we would get a BBC film crew to follow us making a documentary of the trip, Stereophonics would bang out a theme tune and we would all have a jolly old time. But then I found out some chump had beaten me to it. It had already been done, the BBC weren't interested, and Boorman wasn't going anywhere without an engine between his legs.

Undettered I moved swifty on to plan B - I would cycle the world anyway, and my good friend Daniel would come with me assuming the role of Boorman. We'd have to get by without the film/support crew, but Danny is pretty darn good on the ol' guitar, so the theme tune was sorted. Yep, me and Daniel were off to see the world.

Then three days before the off I get word from my compadre that he will not be joining me either. I was shocked, saddened and appalled. No Daniel. No theme tune. No way! He was supposed to be my loyal companion and hapless sidekick. Tonto to my Lone Ranger, Robin to my Batman, Snowy to my Tintin. And what excuse did Daniel have for abandoning me I hear you cry? Well I'll tell you. He lost his glasses.

Plan C! To hell with it all, I shall go alone! And so it is I find myself writing this to you on Bastille Day in Paris, France and tomorrow I shall leave on my bicycle with the destination of Paris, France but I shall leave to the east and return from the west and in between is the small matter of the whole entire world.

Yep this is one of those world tour type things. To keep things simple and to break it down into more manageable chunks, I'm looking at three phases. First, I cycle to Australia. Second, I work in Australia to get some money to get back from Australia. Third, I get back from Australia. As plans go, it's about as good as it's going to get from me. Danny was going to join me from Germany to Oz and I'm hoping if we can find him some new eyewear that he still might. But generally I'm currently focusing all of my attention on phase one. So if anybody asks, I'm cycling to Australia. Come along for the ride.

The author of this blog, that is me, doing my best Ewan 'cool as anything' McGregor. Anyone interested in hiring me for an aftershave advertising campaign, may I direct you to contact me via my guestbook, thank you.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Post script

Not knowing how well it did in America I feel that I may have misjudged my audience with the title/opening paragraph of this blog so I feel I should mention that Long Way Round was a documentary series in which the famous actor Ewan McGregor and the affable Charley Boorman rode motorcycles around the world. It's actually very good and well worth watching, if you ever get the chance.

A detailed map showing both my route and plans. May be subject to change
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Ron SuchanekI read your first book, and while Charley Boorman would have been a great hapless sidekick, the intermittent sidekicks and companions who rode along provided plenty of balance and comic relief.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago