What A Difference A Day Makes - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 17, 2022

What A Difference A Day Makes

Yesterday was just not a fun day and candidly I expected to wake up today to another rainy, windy day. Surprise…it was cool and overcast but no rain and the wind waited quite a while to pick up. Yes, there were plenty of those Missouri continuous up and down “ribbon hills” and a few 10-12% grade, short climbs, but for some reason today was a way better day. 

I made sure to stop to take some photos today. For those of you who have never been to this part of Missouri, it’s very pretty. So much green and lots of farms, cattle, etc. 

There were a couple good stopping spots today, with one being a pleasant surprise. Hartville had a nice little diner and as seems to be the norm in this part of the country, there was a farmers morning meeting going on. It’s just so interesting to sit and listen in on what’s going on. Todays conversation was about bushwhacking and the ability to drop the blades without risk of starting a fire (due to the recent rain).  And then Bendavis was supposed to have a convenience store, but it was still under construction. I stopped at the store and Matt the owner came out and asked me what I was looking for. He then took me into the storage building and gave me a free, ice cold Gatorade. He wouldn’t take any money, but I gave him a signed dollar to put up on the wall and have future visiting cyclists follow suit.  I suggested to Matt that he consider converting part of the storage building into a cyclist hostel. He said there is a third building on site and they are looking at doing just that!  Just more awesome support for the cycling community.  Final stop of the day was Houston. And yes Houston we have a problem…

First of all, the town is very supportive of cyclists. I am allowed to camp in the town park and there are bathrooms and showers available.  But from a food perspective, unless gas station and fast food outlets are considered food, this is a food desert.  I’m going to keep looking but dang, it shouldn’t be this hard to find real food. Does Doordash deliver to public parks?

Hung out for a while in the Texas County library. I must confess, it’s been years since I’ve been in a library. It was a hopping place and they let me use the computer and charge my stuff up!

Well it’s off to find food or something that remotely resembles food, but first the pictures. 

Bye for now

Ian

Scenery and rolling hills not far outside of Marshfield, MO on Route 38.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The view outside Marshfield, MO. I snuck a barn in there too just for fun.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Looking north from route 38 Hartsville area.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Matt the owner of the soon to be open Bendavis Farm and Feed Supply and Convenience Store
Heart 2 Comment 0
The view from the intersection of routes 38 and 17 in Bucyrus, MO.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Another view from the intersection of routes 38 and 17
Heart 1 Comment 0
And a third view from the intersection of routes 38 and 17
Heart 3 Comment 0
Cool looking barn, but it’s seen better days…
Heart 4 Comment 0
My choice for barn of the day.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 1,589 miles (2,557 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0