If There’s A House… - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 26, 2022

If There’s A House…

If there is a house, there is definitely a dog, probably two, and sometimes three or more. That’s my thinking and how I’m planning for tomorrow’s ride from Buckhorn to Hazard, KY. Call me paranoid or maybe I’m just making sure I’m alert and ready (trying to be prepared is what resulted in today’s human nature story ).  

But before we get to that, there’s todays ride to talk about. As I mentioned yesterday, today was planned at 48 miles and pretty much came in right at 48 miles. I thought it might be a bit longer, because there was an issue with the map/directions. But in the end, it all balanced out.   There was just over 3,000 ft of climbing and a lot of that came in the first 7 or so miles (I guess I should have seen that coming when the first town out of Berea (starting point) was called Big Hill).  I got started later today since I was just doing 48 miles and was intending to camp at the church. It was pretty warm and humid right from the first push on the pedals. Strange as this may sound, I felt a little like “Pig Pen” today. He moved around with a cloud of dust and I was followed by a dark cloud. All around me it was blue skies, except right over me. The good news was the cloud cover stopped me from burning any more than I already have. The bad news was, it wasn’t if it would rain, it was when.  And the when was about 25 miles in and for about 10 miles.  Oh well… As for dogs, only chased by two dogs and they were only half hearted chases. 

When I got into Booneville, I grabbed a snack and started thinking about tomorrow’s ride. Maybe I should get some more spray to defend against the real aggressive dogs that everyone has been telling me about. So I headed over to Dollar General (I think there is one about every 10 miles). On the way I passed a sign for Trinity Firearms. Well heck, for sure they must sell pepper spray or mace or something. I turned into the driveway and went down to the shop (it was a small place behind the owner’s house). Joe, he’s the owner, came out and said nobody had ever asked for that before. Then we got to talk’n (😂) about my ride and the route and where I was staying, etc. He offered me to set my tent up on his property and then had me go around back and showed me a garage apartment that they were cleaning up and getting ready for his son and his son’s girlfriend.  He said it might rain so I could just stay in there. It has a shower and a bathroom and electricity…what no cable tv?  Then he introduced me to his wife and sons. They got me all set up with towels, toothpaste, soap, deodorant, water, and his son’s girlfriend scrubbed out the shower!  On top of all that, Joe is going out tonight and is going to try and get me pepper spray (and he wouldn’t take my money). Joe by the way is also running for Mayor. So if you’re registered to vote in  Booneville, Kentucky…Vote for Joe!

Just another example of people helping people and expecting nothing in return. 

I’m going to end on that note. 

Ian

Blue skies ahead and yup it was raining on me.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Barn of the day was at the finish line of the Owsley County High School Cross Country Course
Heart 6 Comment 0
Sign of the day. It’s what got me to meet Joe and his family and created another great memory of my trip.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Joe HavicusThanks for the kind words and like I said it's just what you do for people. So glad our paths crossed God Bless and Safe travels my friend.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Hey everyone meet soon to be Mayor Joe.
Heart 8 Comment 2
Enid MeadowsIf I lived there, I would vote for Mayor Joe!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Joe HavicusTo Enid MeadowsThanks so much for the Vote of confidence.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 903 miles (1,453 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltYup Pig Pen had a cloud of dust, but it was Joe Btfsplk that had the rain cloud.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_Btfsplk
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Michele GordonI sure hope that mace has good range

Thanks joe for taking good care of my e today ……much appreciated
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Joe HavicusTo Michele GordonNo problem and glad we got to meet him, like we say here hes good people.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago