Three More Sleeps - Toulouse to Porto 2019 - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2019

Three More Sleeps

Almost on our way!

I am now the collector and the sorter. Slowly emerging are piles of similar and "like" items.  There is a home (tent and pegs) and sleeping pile, a warm clothes, wind and rain pile, a cycle clothing pile, an after cycling clothing pile, a  maps and GPS pile, a camera and charger pile, an adapter pile and so on and so on.   In the end, it all goes into our panniers quite nicely.

See. The gear really does live under the bed. Note the bathroom vanity contents from the flood sitting on the floor!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Sue and I each take on our roles when getting ready for a trip.  Her's is by far the most important and complex.  She really is the planner and I am the packer.  Sue is a great organizer, and she thinks of everything.  I on the other hand, like my Belfast born mother always said; I have a "bee at my backside".  That means I have this natural kinetic compulsion to keep moving, but it also means that I can be a pain in the ass.  Buzz buzz.

Two bikes in boxes. My road bike jealously looking on. Sorry, I have to go. There are two chickadees visiting and they are chirping at me wondering why the bird feeder is empty.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Please arrive unscathed!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Just before signing off, it bares mentioning the gripping heat wave across much of Europe at this time.  Temperatures rose into the mid 40's in some areas today, with a whopping 45 degrees Celsius recorded in one small southern French town.  That's hot!  In 2014, Sue and I made the mistake of cycling through Tuscany in that kind of heat in August!  Note to self:  Don't ride through Tuscany in August.

If you look closely along our proposed route, the heat seems to be much more bearable...I hope temperatures decrease!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0