Day 6: Touring Newberry National Volcanic Monument - To Hell's Canyon and Back 2006 - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2006

Day 6: Touring Newberry National Volcanic Monument

I got up early and hiked to the hot spring again for a long soak in the cool morning. I soaked alone for almost 2 hours, then hiked back to the campsite.

Morning soak in the hot spring on the north shore of Paulina lake.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Paulina Lake hot spring.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Back at the campsite I discovered that my stove pump does work when the temperature is warm enough. I finally got to have hot tea with breakfast.

After the late breakfast I biked 3 mostly uphill miles to the Obsidian Flow. The Obsidian Flow hike is less than a mile but very steep in some places. The black obsidian covers a very large area and is the result of the most recent volcanic eruption.

Snow on the obsidian flow.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Paulina lake, Mt. Bachelor and South Sister from the Obsidian Flow trail.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then a few more miles on the bike to see Paulina Falls. It's less than a quarter mile off the main road just west of West Lake.

Paulina Lake drains out of Newberry Crater over Paulina Falls.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Then I backtracked less than a mile to the Paulina Lake resort and waited a few minutes for the picnic lunch to be ready. Ribs, beans, potato salad and a drink for $10. The portions were small and I could have easily eaten two plates. But I made do with just one plate and sat around for a long time listening to two guitarists playing on the stage. It was nice to spend the hottest part of the day sitting in the shade.

These ladies just went for a ride - on horseback.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The sun was blazing but the resort has many handy shade trees. I noticed it was cooler at the resort because the prevailing wind comes across the lake. My campground is hotter because the prevailing wind comes across land.

In the evening I made a shower, made dinner, then hiked to the hot spring for still another evening soak. Today was a non-travel day, but I hiked about as far as I biked. It was fun to leisurely see the sights of the area. I considered biking up to the summit of Paulina Peak, a 1400 foot climb on gravel. But laziness got the best of me.

It was another sunny day with a high of 90F. Fortunately with a steady breeze most of the time. The temperature drops rapidly in the evening due to the high elevation and low humidity.

Distance: 9.3 miles (14.9 km)

Climbing: 367 ft. climb (111 m)

Average Speed: 8.9 mph (14.2 km/h)

Maximum speed: 35 mph (56 km/h)

Hiking: 9 miles (14.4 km)

Today's ride: 9 miles (14 km)
Total: 243 miles (391 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0