The End - So Many French Rivers: A Loop of Eastern France - CycleBlaze

July 24, 2023

The End

Bagneaux-sur-Loing to Melun

Paris for scale
Heart 0 Comment 0

That's it, I'm done. This tour ends at the Melun train station, which has a nice symmetry (and convenience) since it is the same RER train line as Goussainville, where I am staying.  I did not hit the 1,000 miles that my children have apparently been telling people I'm doing, but close enough, and 1500km is a nice round number. 

Me at the Melun train station, having barely survived combat with my nearly-forgotten foe, the RER gates.
Heart 1 Comment 0

One thing that happened today is that it rained early this morning, so for the first time on this tour I had to practice packing my tent, and then unpacking it to dry in the middle of the day.

Other than that, it was forested paths and bougie houses. Fontainebleau seems to serve the niche of Potsdam for Berlin, which is to have nice houses near the city for rich people. Even so many seemed old, and an Alsatian/German style seemed to predominate. 

Looks like Strasbourg to my untrained eye.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Seine arrived

Oh hi Seine
Heart 0 Comment 0

And then I had to leave it not long after, at Melun

Bye Seine
Heart 0 Comment 0

I've also one again changed the title to reflect the sheer numerosity of rivers on this route; the Oise and Meuse now seem, in retrospect, like two of many (the "Almost" is to reflect Bourgogne, which was very much part of the route and very much not a river). I'm off to dinner with Eivind this evening, then a day of packing tomorrow. Eventually I hope to get up a postscript of sorts, with overall reflections and summary. 

Today's ride: 53 km (33 miles)
Total: 1,504 km (934 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0