Sojourn in the Sun: Author's Note - The Off Season, 2022-2023 - CycleBlaze

Sojourn in the Sun: Author's Note

No actual cycling content included

THE NEXT SEVERAL ENTRIES describe a trip my wife and I took to Hawai'i in the first half of January.  It wasn't a cycling trip, and we never so much as threw a leg over a saddle, but I thought about bikes at several points during the trip.  You could view it as the reason there are no rides described for this period of time (quite apart from the fact that January in the mid-Atlantic tends to be dreary, chilly (if not outright cold) and generally unappealing to all but the hardiest of cyclists).  Their number no longer includes me.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltWith 5 inches of snow outside right now, I am enjoying this immensely.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsI'm glad. We sure enjoyed it too. I try to make an annual pilgrimage to the sun every winter.

We escaped just under the wire in 2020: we were in St. John when the news began to spread of a mysterious, highly-contagious new respiratory disease spreading from China...

COVID stymied me in 2021 and 2022. That made this year's trip all the sweeter.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago