Resting Up - Mediocre Follow-Up 2019 - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2019

Resting Up

Off Day in Salida

I am staying at a motel just outside Salida. Last night the place was quiet. I slept well so I booked the room for tonight as well.

The motel manager told me of a breakfast place down the road but I couldn’t find it. The wind was blowing hard from the east and it was 53 degrees. Not shorts weather.

I headed into town letting the wind push me. I visited two coffee shops. Neither served a proper breakfast so I made do with coffee, a breakfast bagel (it had an egg in the middle), and a blueberry scone. After that I went to a grocery store and bought some things for tomorrow’s ride as well as a salad for lunch.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Then I went back to my hotel room and loafed. About mid afternoon I took my pulse to see if it was high from the altitude. Nope. 50. Just about right.

I heard from Corey. He reports that Mark and he crossed 11,000+ foot Hoosier Pass this morning after camping overnight at 9,000 feet. I’ll bet they are relieved.

I stayed in my room all day trying to avoid any more physical activity and to stay warm.

After too much TV (I sent my book home yesterday), meditation, and failed napping, I headed out for dinner. There is a McDonalds about a mile downhill from the motel so I headed into the still blowing wind. Even with long pants and a jacket I was cold.

I stopped short of McDonalds at 50 Burger which was about twice the cost. The food was twice as good. And I turned down a beer with dinner because I don’t need my tummy tossing all day tomorrow.

The ride back was a breeze, literally. I didn’t notice the incline. Since temperatures in the morning will be in the high 40s, I stopped at a gas station convenience store to buy some hand and foot warmers. They were out of stock so I did what any sane person would do: I bought some Bugles and some M&Ms.

I am trying to not get anxious about tomorrow. Just looking at the mountains is enough to freak me out. I plan on wearing March commuting gear minus the holey sweater.

Miles today: 6.5

Tour miles: 1,491

Today's ride: 7 miles (11 km)
Total: 1,499 miles (2,412 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Jeff LeeAh, Salida. By far my favorite town in Colorado. My wife and I took a rest day there in 2016, on our Great Divide tour.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago