Easy Day Turned Hard - Mediocre Follow-Up 2019 - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2019

Easy Day Turned Hard

Baker to Ely

Today’s ride from Baker to Ely was supposed to be relatively easy: 62 miles and two mountain summits (both over 7,000 feet).

I ate dinner and breakfast at Kerouac’s one of two restaurants in town. It had a limited menu for both meals, cold beer (at dinner) and a very cool atmosphere (background music included lots of mellow tunes including one by XTC that I’d never heard). Pricey? Yes. But a pretty good find in a dusty town with a population of 68 people.

The motel I stayed at was in an RV park. It looked rather run down but it served its purpose. I slept for ten straight hours.

After breakfast I headed down the road for about five miles. It seemed downhill which is a nice way to start the day. Nicer still I had a bit of a tailwind and some nonthreatening cloud provided relief from the sun.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Although I started at 8:15, it’s a bit late owing to the fact that I’m now on Pacific time. Winds tend to be lighter early in the morning which might have been a factor a few hours into the day.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I picked up US 50 (yes, the same one!). Out here it’s called the Loneliest Road in America. It seemed mighty busy to me.

I was feeling pretty good, especially after yesterday’s long ride. I knew it had to be the intoxicating effect of a tailwind. I rode all the way up to Sacramento Pass at 7,154 feet. I never felt stressed during the climb, stopping only to munch and eat.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Over the top the thrilling descent revealed the strength of the winds. I was flying down the mountain and getting blown all over. Thankfully, no cars or trucks or rental RVs passed me.

The descent turned toward the south as I entered Spring Valley in the shadow of Windy Peak.

That beneficial tailwind was now in my face and it was strong. (Should’ve hit the road earlier!) even with the remains of the downhill I had to work my butt off to make forward progress. In the valley there were lines of wind turbines spinning away.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The road included a short incline that would have been unremarkable except for the hand of the wind god on my chest.

The wind only intensified, somewhat unusual for this time of year, I’m told.

Crossing the valley to the nearly nonexistent town of Majors Junction took over three hours. The valleys are supposed to be the easy part!

I stopped at an RV Park/Bar/restaurant/motel. The property was surrounded by a fence topped with antlers. The neon sign said “Open”. There was no sign of customers or operators. A sign on the locked door said, “Out back in the barn. Back in 5 minutes.” The porch of the place provided shade from the hot sun while I waited. And waited.

Heart 0 Comment 0

After 15 minutes a woman came out and said, “We’re closed. Tuesday is my only day off.” In other words, “Get lost.”

So I headed up the ridge on the western side of the mountain. My battle with the winds in the valley had deadened my legs. Thankfully the route turned back to the north giving me a helping wind that I sorely needed.

It was only five miles to the top but it took well over and hour. I kept stopping to rest and re-fill my water bottles from my bladders. The wind was blowing so hard that I was having trouble transferring the water.

I kept poking along until I reached Connors Pass at 7,722 feet. I was a hurtin' unit.

Heart 0 Comment 0

With that wind at my back and a long downhill to the Steptoe Valley I moved from my granny to my big ring and boogied. 22 miles to go. Nearly out of water. (Or so I thought. I had at least a liter left.)

One surprise today was how green the valleys are. Snow continues to melt on the ridges. I was hoping for flowers but I’ll take grass and sagebrush and trees (on the hillsides).

The closer I was to Ely the slower I seemed to go. I was obviously running out of gas. I grabbed the first cheap hotel I could find, a Motel 6. It’s not nearly as nice as the cheap motels I stayed in the last three nights. (The swimming pool outside my door is downright gross.)

While sitting on the porch of the closed place in Majors Junction, I decided that if I was having this much trouble on an easy day, I’d be screwed on a longer day. My next day is Ely to Eureka. 78 miles. Four summits. No services. Similar weather.

So I am taking a rest day in Ely. I haven’t had one since Salida, Colorado over two weeks ago. This will give me a chance to rest and buy food. I’m also changing to a different hotel in town tomorrow.

Miles today: 61.5

Tour miles: 2,383

Top speed: 35.2 mph

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 2,393 miles (3,851 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0