To Novi Sad: Taking the Serbian Route - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

September 9, 2015

To Novi Sad: Taking the Serbian Route

It was an easy decision for me to take the route on the Serbian side of the river today. The guide book said it was flatter but with more traffic. Yesterday was supposed to have a lot of traffic, too, and it didn't really bother me. I headed to Novi Sad, which is a big city, so there was no getting around the city traffic either way.

I dawdled a bit in the morning, and left the hotel about 9:30. Within 15 minutes I was through immigration on the Croatian side of the river and on the bridge to Serbia.

Crossing the bridge at Backa Palanka. Croatia on the right, Serbia on the left.
Heart 0 Comment 0
First look at Serbia up close. Over the bridge but not yet through Serbian immigration.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Still not through Serbian immigration. Note that Serbia is not part of the EU, so the sign has changed!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Finally through Serbian immigration. Lots of information for cyclists! EV6 signs continue, and now it is the Dunovska Ruta.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The road was mostly flat, with a few very small rollers. Traffic really wasn't bad until I got close to the city. The bicycle route was signed as an alternate route for EV6.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I followed the route to the Centrum, mostly on bike paths that were rough and bumpy due to poor curb cuts and also root damage, but found my way without much difficulty.

I had reserved a night in a hostel with the hope of meeting other travellers and perhaps getting some advice on the route to Belgrade and beyond. We've passed the high season, and there aren't many people here, so I'll see what happens.

I checked in, locked up my bike in a storage room, showered, and went out to look around the Centrum area.

Heart 0 Comment 0
The Russian language review I tried to do before this trip is finally paying off. I can read the street signs! This is Ulitsa Dunavska.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'll probably take tomorrow here as well, so I can visit the Petrovardin Fortress and do some planning.

Today's ride: 46 km (29 miles)
Total: 2,256 km (1,401 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0