Stockholm to Vaxholm to Field west of Vaxholm - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2015

Stockholm to Vaxholm to Field west of Vaxholm

First free camp, camping with the slugs

I had breakfast at the hotel this morning. It seems to be included in most reservations, but not in my award stay. I haven't mentioned how expensive things are. Breakfast was 200 SEK, or about 23 USD. I ate a lot. Yesterday I bought 2 bicycle maps. They should take me to Kappelskar to get the ferry to Finland. They were 330 SEK or about 38 USD. Prices should drop once I get to Poland.

I'm headed for Vaxholm today.

Vaxholm is a small, touristy port town. Like all good tourist spots, it has a fortress.

The fortress at Vaxholm. Built by King Vasa in 1549.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The town is pretty, with old wooden houses, the port, which has lots of restaurants, and lots of shops.

Tourist street in Vaxholm.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Vaxholm house.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I locked up my bike in front of a fruit stand, and a guy there offered to watch it. Then I had a late lunch, wandered around a bit, bought some groceries, and headed back out of town to find some place to camp. Camping is allowed anywhere, as long as you are out of sight of any houses, and leave things like you found them.

I took a small road off of the main road, and it just opened into a large field. It was starting to rain, so I said "good enough" and set up my tent pretty quickly.

Wild camp, outside of Vaxholm. No houses in sight, just a hunter's blind.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After about 3 hours, the rain had stopped and I crawled out and made some tea. I puttered around for a bit, read for a while, and went to sleep. It doesn't really get dark here this time of year, so I was glad to have the mask I had brought for sleeping on the plane.

When I got up, everything was still wet, and there were slugs everywhere! Big ones in the grass. Small ones on my water bottles! I took my time eating breakfast and packing up, hoping things would dry up, but ended up packing a wet tent.

Slug. That's a 2 liter bottle, for reference.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My campsite in the morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 km (29 miles)
Total: 99 km (61 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0