Jaen to Baeza - Trains, World Cup and Ashes - CycleBlaze

May 3, 2019

Jaen to Baeza

warm climb

Andres works night at a hospital but had offered to drive me around Jaen today but sadly he got called into work so I left his home at lunch time, missing out on seeing Jaen. This is the one town I struggle to pronounce for some reason, apparently its pronounced “hi” aen 

Have done some climbing since leaving Jaen. Initially it was rolling hills through olive plantations before having to make the choice between climbing up 500meters to 3 cities or to take a lower route with no towns on the route but following a river and railway line. My generally rule is to follow railway lines when practical because they generally follow the contours. However when I started this route the road turns to gravel and I was still climbing. As well I could see in the distance  the city of Baeza looking inviting especially as Andres had recommend visiting. So I turned around and started climbing, it was an okay climb with a tailwind helping to keep me cool. I crossed another former railway line and could see how it snakes its way below the cities. I hope to join this railway line once it becomes a developed rail trail further east towards Albacete.

Rolling hills leaving Jaen
Heart 1 Comment 0
remains of railway crossing bellow hills
Heart 0 Comment 0
climbing up to Baeza
Heart 1 Comment 0

Baeza is a university city with some gothic style buildings and a free interpretive centre located in the bull ring. Was interesting learning about the history of bull fighting even if I don’t understand the attraction to it. Could see people practicing inside the ring without a bull but with one person carrying some horns. 

Baeza bullring, couldn't go inside actual ring but museum was interesting
Heart 0 Comment 0

As I was about to leave town clouds suddenly appeared and a sun shower began so ducked into supermarket. It stopped soon afterwards and I assumed that was the end of the rain despite some dark clouds further east. So decide to find somewhere to stealth camp, finding a potential suitable place so set off but unfortunately the storm returned and would continue for 2 hours so returned to town, ending up sheltering in the equestrian lookout. Thankfully by 8pm rain had stopped and was able to sleep without storms but still found a place to camp under cover just in case, as packing up a wet tent is not much fun.

Today's ride: 55 km (34 miles)
Total: 894 km (555 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0