sep 24 - Minnesota in 3 weeks - CycleBlaze

September 24, 2023

sep 24

Finally, a Paul Bunyan. Yesterday at the Museum of Mining
Heart 0 Comment 0

rain was projected through the morning. Hopes were that it would clear by early afternoon. Only a few people thought they might ride. By noon, I was the only one considering riding.  

I was heading for the little municipality of Hoyt Lakes.

I finally took off about 1:20. It was going well till Biwabik. It was a nice scenic ride on mostly the Mesabi Trail and partly on highways as they extended the trail. I am pretty sure I saw a fox. There was a sign for the trail and I ended up going up a dirt path that went the wrong way. I got back to the route. I had picked up a bungee cord earlier and it somehow dropped down, caught one of my spokes and tore it out of the hub. The spoke was bent but not broken. The wheel was out of true, however I limped the 10 remaining miles. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived at the hotel in time for a video chat with my brothers, but decided to get Ken to help me see about getting the wheel back together first. It seems as if it might be ok. I joined the chat about 45 minutes late.

Dinner was at a sports bar and quite greasy, but it was the only place open on Sunday night.

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 628 miles (1,011 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Christy HoffIf only our equipment ran perfectly always, but where's the fun in that?
Reply to this comment
7 months ago