Day 5 - still at Remington, IN - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 8, 2022

Day 5 - still at Remington, IN

Up this morning at 6:30am EDT. My phone is still on CDT. The motel clerk says phones here usually report [incorrectly] in Central Time. She said the time line follows Route 114 mostly, but is also affected by the boundaries of school districts. She mentioned areas that are on 'slow time' and 'fast time', but I couldn't follow which is which.

Today is a day off for me to catch up on report writing and to wash clothes. First a shower, then a motel breakfast. My 7:30am arrival at the breakfast area worked out well - just before the area got busy.

Had a 17-minute phone conversation with my wife at 9:16am. She had lots of news.

Started my laundry at 10:00am, which also worked out well, since others showed up just as my wash load was done.

The early afternoon outside was hot, humid, and windy from the south. Later, toward the evening, rain passed by, then it was cooler, with wind from the north.

Mid-afternoon I received a phone call from another friend who I'd worked with at Caterpillar. His eyesight is quickly deteriorating to the point he can't see to fix a light switch problem - can't even see enough to get the cover plate off. He was hoping I could help him with the repair. Eight months ago he was seeing well enough to give me help with a church wiring project. His sarcastically positive outlook on life always makes me smile. He said, "I thought you might be out on one of your bicycle trips, but then considered, 'No he wouldn't be doing that in August.' But there you are!" Anyway, there's a job where I can be helpful waiting for me when I get back.

I'd decided on Taco Bell for supper. When we have Taco Bell at home, my wife picks it up. I texted her asking what she usually gets for me, since I don't know what the items are called. She replied: Chili Cheese Burrito and Nacho Bel Grande. I walked east at 7:35pm past one truck stop to the other where the Taco Bell is. When I was back, I settled in the breakfast dining area to eat. It was brighter there, even with the lights off, than in my room with the lights on and window curtains open. 

Back to report writing after supper til bedtime at 11:30pm. I was happy with my progress on catching up.

Jeff

Spent: $2.50 (laundry) + $9.06 (supper) + $1 (Dr Pepper) + $96.27 plus $5 (motel room) = $113.83.

Heart 2 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesGood job on the waffle this time.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
"Practice makes perfect."
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0