Périgueux - Melo Vélo Meanderings - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2018 to June 14, 2018

Périgueux

Today was a rest day in Périgueux, and it was a pretty lazy day.  I went to the market in the morning and wandered around the old section of the town, which is dominated by the Saint Front Cathedral.  There are many and varied squares, each filled with vendors of fruits and vegetables, meats,  bakery items, and local products.  The city feels more like a regular French city than Sarlat-de-Canada, which was full of tourists when I visited there last fall.

I spent most of the afternoon catching up with the journal and had a wonderful evening meal, again focusing on regional cuisine.  The main course was lamb with black olives and roasted root vegetables.  It was not only sumptuous, but had an earthiness that spoke to an ancient hunger.  Quite an amazing meal. After dinner, I took a short walk across the L'Isle River and then called it a night.

Saturday market under the towers of Cathedral Saint Front
Heart 1 Comment 0
"My street" in Périgueux
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Saint Front Cathedral from across the Isle River
Heart 2 Comment 0

The next morning I stopped by the Vélo Cafe for coffee and cake, followed by a visit to the massive Saint Front Cathedral.  I had hoped to visit more of the sights while in Périgueux, but I needed to get to Bordeaux to meet my friend Carolyn who had arrived in Paris early this morning and woulb be soon headed to Bordeaux.  I loaded everything up, headed for the train station, and was soon on my way - by train, not bike - to Bordeaux.

Vélo Cafe
Heart 2 Comment 0
View across the Isle River from the Saint Front Cathedral
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ready to roll...
Heart 0 Comment 0
...but only as far as the train station!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Vivien George's favorite way to travel - not!
Heart 2 Comment 2
Suzanne GibsonInteresting perspective! Were you able to get the bike up without help?
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Suzanne GibsonSuzanne - yes, I am able to lift bike onto the hook without help, but it isn't very easy, especially if the train starts moving! This is one of the major reasons I wanted a lighter bicycle for touring than my steel Trek 520, which did require assistance to put on the hooks.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Melodee WalkerWedding done I had a chance to catch up with your travels today. Other than the rain & mud, it sounds like you are having the adventure you planned. Jealous of your adventuresome spirit.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago