the actual windiest city - 1982: Stories of the Young and Dumb, aka My First Bike Trip - CycleBlaze

the actual windiest city

The next morning at 6:30 I climbed out of my tent as William was walking up, his brow again furrowed with concern. Overnight, the wind had continued picking up speed and was now blowing in earnest. No longer was there the occasional POP…...POP……POP of the tent. Now the tent flapping sounded like a baseball card in the spokes of a tire. I grabbed my tent with all my gear still inside it and sprinted to the Campground Office just as the rain started pelting the ground. There, after watching the storm for a few minutes, I pulled everything out of my tent and started folding it up in preparation for packing it away. 

The manager of the campground was there and let us know that Chicago isn’t ACTUALLY the windiest city… our current location of Dodge City is. Listening to the howling outside, I believed him. I later learned that neither Chicago nor Dodge City is the windiest. Mt. Washington in New Hampshire is, although Dodge City proudly claims the second spot on the Blowhard Cities List. 

The rain and the wind didn’t seem to be abating, so we decided to wait it out in the office by doing laundry and changing the position of William’s water bottle cage. By 11:00 the rain and wind had dissipated somewhat so we rode to the Pizza Hut for a repeat of last night’s dinner. We remained there for two hours, stuffing ourselves until 1:00, then rode the short distance to Boot Hill where we were disappointed to find it costs $3.00 to enter. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0