farsee - 1982: Stories of the Young and Dumb, aka My First Bike Trip - CycleBlaze

farsee

There’s a local term for distance around here, a “farsee,”  which is how far you can see.  “Yeah, you go about two farsees and you’re there.”

When you can see the horizon in both directions, and there aren’t any cars, sometimes you just turn down the squelch on your brain and, consequently, you have a lot of time to think about Things.  The cycling becomes so natural that you just slip your brain into your pocket for later use since you don’t need it to stay upright and keep the pedals spinning.  

Where do my thoughts go? For me, I solve all of the world’s problems.  That usually takes about twenty minutes, and I think everyone will be a lot happier once I become Omnipotent Ruler of the Universe. 

After that, I look at the scenery, and note how beautiful it is… especially when compared to the walls of my office.

I notice the sweat on my arms, or the absolute silence, or the birds. I notice if my butt or hands are sore, then shift positions. 

I write stories in my head, then rewrite them. I’ve always enjoyed writing, if only for my own entertainment. I also write letters.

Sometimes, however, we used that time to think about Things.  Big Things. In our case, the Great Minds had some Great Discussions about the kinds of things that all college students have, such as, 

"According to the Bible, if you think about killing someone then you’re a murderer. Does that mean that if you think about having sex you’re no longer a virgin?” 

And also:   Superman vs Batman.

Such are the deliberations of 22-year-olds.

Jerry and Scott in New Mexico
Heart 8 Comment 0
Mark and Jerry in the Texas panhandle
Heart 7 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 0