Venice area - Rialto campground/glamping tent - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

May 10, 2023

Venice area - Rialto campground/glamping tent

Waiting out the rain/storms

I was lucky enough to get a 1:00pm checkout at the Hilton and could wait in their lobby as long as I wanted.  They had a pleasant seating area.  I was hoping for a break in the rain --- it's been raining ALL day --- before doing the move to the campground -- all of one mile.  Finally, after 2:00, I just decided to go and accepted I was going to get very wet.  

A very rainy day. Watching the intensity of the raindrops hit the pool to see how bad it is.
Heart 0 Comment 0

To get across the street, I would have had to head the wrong direction to the next roundabout and circle back.  No way across the highway because of barricades.  I had walked it a couple of times, but the people at the hotel confirmed it would be shorter to go against traffic on the sidewalk to the next roundabout.  That was all fine until the sidewalk ran out.  Not much room on the road, but since I could see the roundabout, I just got off my bike and walked it against traffic.  Yes, through a deep puddle I had to walk through.  Should have gone the longer way.

Flooded campground, right outside my so called glamping tent.
Heart 1 Comment 1

I got into my glamping tent and was less than thrilled.  It's big, but there's nothing fancy about this glamping set up.  The important thing was, it had a bathroom and I'd be out of the rain.  There was a little heater, but it basically did nothing to warm up the place.  It was 50E in part because of the proximity to Venice.  Not worth that price at all. 

I finally ventured out to the little cafeteria on site and ordered what I though was a pepperoni pizza.  Instead, I got "peppers."  Uuuugh.  That was disappointing.  Oh well.  

My "pepperoni" pizza. Not.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Will definitely head out tomorrow even though the weather forecast isn't any better, but I can head 30 miles down the road and get a hotel near the beaches for the same price.  Besides, I bet I'll have the beach to myself!

Just as a fyi for any other cyclists- the Camping Venezia Village right down the road seems to have a better set up, but their indoor little cottages had a two night minimum.  Also, the people at Camping Rialto seemed friendlier and there is an Aldi grocery store right across the street.

Today's ride: 1 mile (2 km)
Total: 81 miles (130 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0