Leland - Traverse City, MI - The Only Thing Fast On This Tour Is The Ferry - CycleBlaze

July 6, 2021

Leland - Traverse City, MI

Heart 0 Comment 0

Jacinto set the alarm for 6:30. We were out the door at 10:15 - fast we were not.

There was much discussion about how far to ride today. We had choices - short, medium, long. You know me - I seldom choose the long ride. I did want to see the lighthouse. But . . .  . In the end I went the 43 mile medium ride. Jacinto was the over achiever who rode out to the light house. He was extra happy that there were rolling climbs on the way.

Jacinto had Komoot going for routing. We planned to ride together to Newport, 11 miles. I don't know what Komoot had going, but it took Jacinto back to the lodge after going through town. Even I knew where I started! I didn't go around the block.

We were only two miles down the road when we ran into Jim. He is a UPS driver from Caseville, MI and is touring until his return to work on August 2nd. He camped at Leelanau last night and was headed south. Jim doesn't own a car and commutes to work on his bike.

It was hard to tear ourselves away, but we only had two miles in and should get down the road.

Jacinto quickly outpaced me and faded into the distance. Riding 'together' for 11 miles didn't really happen. We had a few small climbs that I didn't bother to power over. I had the relaxed mentality going and was doing plenty of looking around. I had 9.5 miles in when Jacinto called to say he was at the turn. Really? I am relaxed today! Sure, go ahead and go. My ego felt somewhat better when I soon got to a fast downhill. No wonder Jacinto was way in front of me.

It had sprinkled slightly last night and was supposed to start raining tonight pretty good. For the moment temperatures were in the low 70's and it was a fine riding day. Traffic was light and our good road surface/shoulder continued.

At Newport, things picked up. More traffic. Less shoulder. Not as good of road surface. None of those things were troublesome, but they were noticeably not as good.

I had remarked to Jacinto that the only police/state patrol I have seen was one policeman in a golf cart (POLICE in big letters on the side). No State Patrols at all. But, I saw one yesterday and another today. I hadn't seen a single semi all weekend. Because of the holiday? Or they just don't go this direction? Today I saw exactly one dump truck, and one small semi - a delivery vehicle. I haven't seen any RV's either. I just asked Jacinto - am I not noticing them, or there aren't any? No, he hasn't noticed any either. The people camping here must be tent camping. Or not traveling our roads. But I think we are on the main road. Anyway, it has been good riding.

I was taking a photo at Newport, and who should pull up next to me but John and Diane! They have been camping and spent last night at the Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes. Bugs haven't been too bad and they've had a little rain. We didn't talk long. We might run into each other again, we have the same overnight towns.

I was happy the miles between Newport and Suttons Bay went quickly. I was looking forward to riding the bike path. First, it should be nice, and second, it would mean I'm close to town.

The path WAS nice. Good surface. Tucson has spoiled me with all of their underpasses for cyclists. The number of road crossings were notable. I would still ride the path again. I got to one intersection and it said 'path closed - construction'. I kept going. Ooops. Sure enough, there was an orange mesh barrier across the road. I had been seeing plenty of cyclists coming towards me, it looks like going around is acceptable? I looked to the left and the right to determine which was the better choice. I went right, because there was vegetation and I didn't want to walk in the sand. Right was up an embankment. I got the front wheel up and then my bicycle high centered! A man came along just then and steadied the front end while I lifted the rear up and got myself up. He told me to ride the gravel road and I could see the cut through the foliage to get back in.  I'm becoming less and less of a gravel rider as the years pass. I thought my rear tire felt like it was going flat, but I guess it was the feeling of riding on gravel.

I was soon back on the bike path. I saw a man coming towards me riding a cruiser style E bike and drinking a canned beverage. That's the life. I went around the corner and saw a boy with a cutely decorated path side stand, selling lemonade. I should reward an enterprising youngster. I circled back. I was a little disappointed to get canned lemonade. But I had an empty bottle and the lemonade was cold. One I pedaled.

Soon I saw a recumbent coming towards me! That was worth stopping. Terry was inclined to chat. He had a brand new P-38 that he was still fine tuning. We had an extended conversation about recumbents. I seldom encounter anyone as knowledgeable about recumbents  and recumbent happenings. It was a pleasure to talk. I took a photo, but Terry requested I not post it.

I had just a few miles to go. I called Jacinto to see where he was. He had just passed the construction and had fallen trying to get his bike up the embankment. I pedaled even slower, eating an apple as I went. I would be very happy if Jacinto caught me in time to negotiate the city together.

I stopped near the end of the trail at a potty. I dallied just long enough - here was Jacinto! 

Crossing the city didn't seem bad at all, from the caboose view. Cherry Days Festival was going (on a Tuesday?). We were routed downtown by the marina. It would probably be busy on a normal day, but was crazy busy today. I had several people unthinkingly bring me to a stop. A middle school age kid, walking backwards, talking to his friends. A man who ran across the busy road and then stopped right in the center of the path to adjust his sandals. But, I managed to stick with Jacinto and we were finally away from the path and, presto!, on quiet side streets. 

We are at the Knights Inn tonight, a less expensive choice in town. They have a continental breakfast (no eggs at all). Check in lady Valerie said we can either leave our bikes outside or pay a $25. deposit.  I went with the deposit. Kylie will inspect our room in the morning before refunding our deposit.

We have a spacious room that the bikes fit in easily. A king size bed. Fluffy towels. Squishy pillows. We are going now to dinner to a place a block away. The ice machine wouldn't dispense more than a few ice cubes, I will check again later.

It is supposed to pour rain tonight. We shall see. tomorrow there is just one length of route to Charlevoix, although there are choices of how to get there. We had quite a bit of discussion last night about sending Jacinto over The Wall. Then we determined that The Wall is between East Jordan and Boyne City, which is not on our route. Jacinto has found a substitute on Strava called Dumbass Hill, with 319 feet of climbing in a mile. I think he has recovered from the challenge of riding with four full panniers!

We are off to dinner now!

I waited for Jacinto at the end of the bike path. He was right behind me, I spent so much time talking!
Heart 2 Comment 0
After dinner antics.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Marcela I.I love this picture of you guys.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
The view from the walkway at the lodge.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jim, from Caseville, MI.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There are many silos in Michigan.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I’m starting to see more barns now.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I like their sign.
Heart 2 Comment 0
By the time I got my phone out to take a photo, the paddle boarder was too far away for a good photo.
Heart 1 Comment 0
John and Diane caught me again!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I enjoy looking at all of the small, private docks.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Look closely at the masonry work. Outstanding.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A movie theatre in Sutton’s Bay.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This man helped me get my long bike up the embankment to go around the road construction. They are building a trail parking lot.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I bought a $1. Lemonade in a can from this enterprising young man. I also liked his decorations.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Look closely. It’s a cat.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jacinto’s lighthouse photo.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Komoot routes Jacinto to this deadend. He got two bonus miles.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Jacinto’s photo at Sutton’s Bay.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 241 miles (388 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Robert FlynnTell Jacinto he is missing out on triple bonus points by passing up climbing the WALL . The trouble with the wall is the 3 miles of gradual climb when you leave town and you come to a curve in the road that says steep climb ahead and then you see it . I have heard a lot of swear words over the years to describe the ( hill from hell ) . They say it tops out at about 20 % at the very top . It is on a tour that I did for many years until the pandemic called DALMAC . Look forward to you daily updates . Safe travels .
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezRobert,

We have heard about The Wall! It is famous. It has been many years since I've attempted a 20% hill. 3rd Street in our hometown is labeled as 20%. I have ridden my recumbent up it, but it's so steep the front end would lift up. Now I like my knees too much to ride those grades . . . . (my ego won't admit that I can't ride them!).

I met a man with a DALMAC jersey today. He says the tour is on for 2021.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago