Day 42: Cossack Rest day 2 - Katherine to Perth 2022 - CycleBlaze

August 29, 2022

Day 42: Cossack Rest day 2

Last night was definitely the most scared I’ve been on the trip when I woke up half out the window next to my bed.  I had no idea where I was, and was convinced I must be on a road about to get run over by a truck. Once I realised I wasn’t, I was very concerned I’d broken the historic house by pushing out the screen in my sleep, although it seems alright. I can’t even remember the last time I slept walked/climbed that much. Mum and Dad had woken up cause I was banging around and although they didn’t know what had happened til I came in again very upset. Thanks again for nothing, subconscious. It was only just afternoon 10 as well but luckily i stayed in my bed until morning after that. 

I had booked my bike in for a service with a guy who is working out of his house in a Karratha housing estate but I hoped was actually legit. He seemed to be and replaced my chain and rim tape on the front wheel to make it tubeless again. 

While he was doing that, we went to the Murujuga National Park to look at some Aboriginal petroglyphs (engravings).

They reckon there’s a million engravings in these hills
Heart 4 Comment 0

 There’s engravings of thylacine (extinct Tasmanian tiger), goannas, kangaroos, and spirit figures and a boat, although they think that may have been carved by a European. Some of them are a bit hard to see but some are really clear.

The main art site
Heart 1 Comment 0

There’s a massive gas plant across the road from this ancient site because Australia
Heart 2 Comment 0

Then we went back to Dampier, another iron ore town, which is more pleasantly situated than Wickham. Unfortunately the one cafe in town is closed mondays. 

Dampier beach on the calm side of the peninsula
Heart 3 Comment 0

We went back into Karratha and got thoroughly confused and disgruntled by the big shopping centre although we did manage to post letters, find a pharmacy, get Dad a replacement iPad charger and get coffee. Then we collected my bike and scurried back to relaxed Cossack. 

We’ve managed to organise to meet up again on Saturday near Exmouth and Mum and Dad have booked accommodation in between here and there. 

I took my bike up to the lookout with great views back to Roebourne
Heart 7 Comment 0
Then we went in the car back to the beach as the tide retreated
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 3 km (2 miles)
Total: 2,875 km (1,785 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0