Day 36: Bidyadanga to Sandfire - Katherine to Perth 2022 - CycleBlaze

August 23, 2022

Day 36: Bidyadanga to Sandfire

Today was the first day I’ve ridden an imperial century - 100 miles! I decided to do it on a day with an intense cross wind, where I didn’t leave early and wore new bike shorts. Because I make great life choices. 

Ingrid made me porridge and coffee for breakfast. Francis had to leave for work early but the kids and big dog gave me a good send off. 

Ingrid, Kiki, big dog and Kai
Heart 4 Comment 0
Big dog doesn’t like to be left out of photos
Heart 4 Comment 0

There was a pretty strong easterly so it took me another hour to get back out to the highway. I thought that had blown away my chances of making Sandfire but it did get quicker on the highway to the Stanley Rest Area. It’s another big site, same decor. 

I pulled out of there about 11 and it was slow going. The vegetation had been reasonably tall around Bidgy but was getting smaller. 

I didn’t see any cows but Anna Plains station was growing an excellent crop of termite mounds
Heart 2 Comment 0

The wind was mostly cross but it was strong enough to knock me round. It wasn’t soul destroying like a headwind but definitely soul wearying. I found myself questioning the point of my exercise, like how is  being able to slog into a cross wind for hours going to benefit my life? And if there’s no benefit, why is this something I do for fun? 

I consoled myself with my other theory about cycle touring which is that it’s at least one holiday activity when you’re allowed to have a bad day and not feel like you should be having a great time on holidays all the time. 

Whether it has long term benefits or not, I did make it to the WikiCamps site about 65k north of Sandfire just after 2. It was just some tracks through melaleuca just off the highway. I’m sure people would’ve come later but there was no one there, just two clapped out cars, a broken TV and toilet paper floating round. On the map, the road swung slightly to the east about there so I decided to keep going.

It did get quicker, I passed the 60k sign to Sandfire at 2:30 so was racing the clock to do close to 20k/hr to get to Sandfire by dark. I did manage to do it thanks to the wind dying down and the road turning. About 20k out, at 4:30, I got onto the plains. 

The Easterly in the Kimberley blows mostly on the plain(...ly?)
Heart 6 Comment 0

The cross wind was strong but luckily the road swung around further to the east progressively until I had a tailwind for the final 5k. I arrived at about 5:30, just before sunset. A guy was sitting outside with an Ortleib handlebar bag drinking wine. He was 84, German and on his sixteenth visit to Australia. He said it’s too busy to camp in Europe in summer so he prefers Australia or Argentina. I think he said he started in Darwin at the beginning of August so he’s making good time. But he’s having a rest day here tomorrow. He’d come across the sealed road but must’ve been behind Kenny and Davin and the Dutch/Belgian couple. I’m not sure whether they’re behind or ahead of me now. 

The unpowered campsite options were either in a carpark or underneath a grove of mango trees so I went under the trees, as had the German who has a very lightweight set up. 

Today's ride: 163 km (101 miles)
Total: 2,377 km (1,476 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Ben Nooneyay!! 💯💯💯
Reply to this comment
1 year ago